To Ponder

by

Some things to ponder or discuss over the weekend.

To change or Not. . .

If you could change yourself by magic, anything you wanted, would you? What would you change? How do you think it would affect you? How do you think it would affect your friends and family? Do you foresee negative consequences? Would the change be from now on, or would the change be retroactive (so your current life could be very different)? If you went the retroactive route, how would you feel just before you made the change (remember with retroactive change you would have no memory of the old you)? Would you trade off some traits to get your desired traits (e.g., looks for health, charm for brains, intellectual ability for sporting ability)?

To Blog or Not. . .

If you blog, why? Does number of readers matter? Does number of comments matter? Would you prefer active conversations amongst your readers or would you prefer the conversations to be with you? Have you a favorite blog post? What is it about that post? What would make you stop blogging? If you give up blogging would you leave the old posts up, or would you blogocide/404? If you blog under a assumed name, do you also have a real-world blog?
[Examples: In Mala Fide has a good readership but relatively few comments (considering Ferdinand’s audience size). Roissy has many comments but they are mostly amongst readers and not really with Roissy. Chuck (glpiggy) and his readers have an active dialogue but fewer comments than Roissy.]

To Be or Not. . .

What other things could you/do you ponder on?
[like why am I wasting a good Saturday reading this? :/]

My Answers

Added: Oct 31, 2010
I am not sure why I started blogging here. It started as a bit of a joke, it then became a somewhere to leave remarks that might be too long for other’s blog comments.
[if only everyone was so considerate :/]

I have just deleted some posts that were not very good or useful. Some where posts that received few hits and no comments. Some were whiny/TMI crap that had to go. I do not foresee deleting the entire blog but do see the day I might pack it in. I will likely leave the dead blog up instead if white-paging it.

I do have a real world blog. It is even less interesting than this (I am more restricted in my topics), and I update it even less. I created that other blog more for the challenge of setting up the blogging system (it is a self-hosted version of WordPress), and the CSS files etc.

For some strange reason I like my first Test Card post (used to alert readers I was taking a break). It has some trivia and a little humor. Not very useful, but the kind of thing that can be fun to skip through.

I thought my various Dating Graphs were a reasonable description of PUA theory (grossly stylized, I suppose).

As much as I enjoy writing, I enjoyed writing The Soundtrack in Your Head. Looking back at it, it is not half as clever as I thought but I still enjoyed writing it.

I enjoyed the In the Style of posts. I think Chic Noir and SDaedalus are the best of those. I have surprised my self by how much I enjoyed the short stories.

I enjoyed the Myers Briggs and the PUAsphere post (it was popular and garnered many comments). I worked hard on, and was pleased with Myers Musings: Heroes and Villains but it garnered few views and no comments.

Added: Nov 1, 2010
I realized that I also like the You Might not Have Seen series because it allows me feel like I have posted something but requires little work. Although I do actually hope that someone enjoys, or finds useful, the sites mentioned.

Added: Nov 5, 2010
My Cheap Advice post was the first in a long time that I felt “proud” of. While it is, perhaps, a bit trite and obvious, I still feel it is a nice little post. It is the kind of post I could enjoy had I read it elsewhere.

14 Responses to “To Ponder”

  1. namae nanka Says:

    “If you could change yourself by magic, anything you wanted, would you? ”

    yes

    ” If you give up blogging would you leave the old posts up, or would you blogocide/404?”

    i did it to my previous blog, so maybe this time too. but I’ll save the posts unlike last time.

    “What other things could you/do you ponder on?
    [like why am I wasting a good Saturday reading this?”

    It’s sunday morning here, but yeah I do ponder sometimes on why I should read this blog.

  2. Default User Says:

    @namae nanka

    . . .but yeah I do ponder sometimes on why I should read this blog.

    That’s okay, I ponder why I should write it. I also wonder why people read it. I am not sure why I read many of the blogs I do. I suspect for some it is just habit.

  3. An Unmarried Man Says:

    I would not change a thing. This life is an absolute, fixed quantity in my mind. To fantasize about magical changes is akin to fantasizing about winning $43 million in the lottery. I’ve never been built to become lost in imaginary and alternative realities. The moment someone starts wondering what they would change about themselves given unearthly magical circumstances is the moment unhappiness and dissatisfaction begin rolling in. I think there is much to be said for accepting reality as a singular, imperturbable existence. Occasionally acquaintances want to play this what-if game and I bow out. I don’t do it well. I don’t get invited to many parties either, hahaha!!

    My first blog was entirely externally directed. I sought readers, commenters, always hoping and searching and whoring it up. I let it die and started the new one and it instantly become an inwardly-focussed exercise in private dialog. Sometimes I view my blog as a stream of thoughts that rattle around inside my head without consideration of the outside world. I often wonder if this is wise, but then again, no one ever accused me of common sense.

  4. Default User Says:

    I certainly see no great joy in writing just to gain readers. However, it is nice to believe that a post might have inspired, informed, or entertained. To meet such a desire needs at least some readers. Like you, I am not sure why I bother, but it is not just to gain readers (good thing too).

    It is not as if large readership will allow you to commercialize. That said: I would be happy to be seen as a thought leader (e.g., Sailer).

  5. namae nanka Says:

    That was a memorable day to me, for it made great changes in me. But, it is the same with any life. Imagine one selected day struck out of it, and think how different its course would have been. Pause you who read this, and think for a moment of the long chain of iron or gold, of thorns or flowers, that would never have bound you, but for the formation of the first link on one memorable day.

    From Great Expectations by Charles Dickens, the only author whose novels I diligently read through and still don’t remember much of them.
    But he had some very good thoughts such at the one above that I recall from time to time.
    It has a very what-if thing to it, mostly if the memorable day was something that led you down a worse path than otherwise.

    “Thatโ€™s okay, I ponder why I should write it. I also wonder why people read it. I am not sure why I read many of the blogs I do. I suspect for some it is just habit.”

    vanity, vanity and vanity. and we all have our rationalization hamsters.
    Habits can be changed but this song always plays through my head when I think of changing myself:

    hint- the line “I tried to change, but I changed my mind”

    and I always forget this song,

    which makes it interesting to hear every time I come across it.

    and OT: a short story I wrote some time back, dusted up a bit so that it comes across more cleanly than how it did to its previous readers:

    http://namaenanka.blogspot.com/2010/10/lady-in-red.html

    Ed. Catchy songs. Interesting story.

  6. sdaedalus Says:

    It’s very difficult to say what your life would be like if something was different. Although my life could definitely be better in some ways, it could also be worse in other ways.

    Obviously I would have preferred to be more beautiful, wouldn’t any woman, but I’m not sure it would have made me happier. In particular it would make the ageing process more painful.

    I would have liked to have worried less about my appearance though. More confidence would have made my life easier, but then again, maybe it wouldn’t have worked out for the best.

    On balance, I think I’d prefer not to change very much, though slightly longer hair, bigger eyes, longer legs and bigger breasts couldn’t surely cause too much harm lol. No drastic change, just a bit of tweaking here and there.

    I blog because I like to get other people’s opinions on things not easy to discuss in real life. I could probably get people to talk about these things in real life with a bit of persuasion, but they would regret it afterwards and either avoid me or resent me. People don’t like sharing too much information with those they know. So my commenters are very important to me. I like discussion.
    [DU: You seem to receive a good amount of comments on each post, so mission accomplished]

    If withdrawing from blogging I would prefer to keep my blog up, but that might depend on the circumstances in which I had to withdraw. I would try to email all my commenters in advance though so that they could save the posts & comments.
    [DU: How would you know that some on that list were not those you were “hiding” from (in the case of some privacy/personal reason)?]

  7. sdaedalus Says:

    [DU: How would you know that some on that list were not those you were “hiding” from (in the case of some privacy/personal reason)?]

    I said “try”.

  8. Default User Says:

    I added my answers to some of my own questions to the end of this post.

  9. sdaedalus Says:

    @Default User

    I enjoyed the In the Style of posts. I think Chic Noir and SDaedalus are the best of those.

    I agree, but I may be biased. Interesting that these two were your favorites. Which of them did you like better? (hi Chic)

    I enjoyed your short stories too.

  10. Default User Says:

    @sdaedalus
    Chic’s was harder to create. I wanted something that was more than *writing text like this*. I thought it captured her style, humor, and interest in fashion (well the last loosely at best) etc. It was more work, as I had to trawl through photos. I would have loved to find a mixed-race baby for the “future default” picture. In the end laziness made me grab the one I did as the subject had a certain defaultedness about him (not a look alike, but did not seem unbelievable either). Overall, I was pleased with it as it was mildly amusing and carried a light touch.

    I think yours probably captured the style in a more recognizable way. I would suspect that many readers would consider it the better of the two because it was more recognizably “in the style of.” Your suggested replacement for the original picture that I had used made the post much better. Even with the original picture, I was happy with the post.

    I enjoyed writing both. I think both subjects enjoyed their post (an important point as the series is meant to be friendly). I was happy (as much as I ever am) with both. Where the others in the series were not that great (cheap filler, really) those two had some substance (for what is obviously a fluff post).

    Your attempt to make trouble has failed however, as I cannot (or will not) make a choice between the two posts. That would be like making a choice between two readers. :/

    While I may write more short stories (there is one bubbling away at the back of my mind as I type), I will probably not do more In the Style of posts. It was a concept that seemed funnier as a concept. The reality was less interesting and amusing.

  11. chicnoir Says:

    i would make myself very wealthy.

    How do you think it would affect you?
    It would make me relax about my future. It would also allow me to enjoy life.

    How do you think it would affect your friends and family?
    It may bring out a negative side in them.

    Do you foresee negative consequences?
    yes, I may have to let go of some “friends”.

    Would you trade off some traits to get your desired traits

    I don’t think so. I would like to be a bit brighter like 130 iq range but I’m not sure If I would be willing to trade any of the girfts I’ve already been blessed with.

    If you blog, why?
    to entertain people.

    Does number of readers matter?
    no, not really.
    Does number of comments matter?
    no but it’s nice when you get some. It means people enjoy what you do.

    Would you prefer active conversations amongst your readers or would you prefer the conversations to be with you?
    doesn’t matter.

    Have you a favorite blog post?
    probably the chateu gang posts and the pole dancer post.

    What is it about that post?
    Many people enjoy the chateau gang posts so bringing them happineses gives me happines. the pole dancer is a personal favorite .

    What would make you stop blogging?
    running out of ideas.

    If you give up blogging would you leave the old posts up, or would you blogocide/404?
    well I took down my other blog.. If I decide to do that again, I put up a note first.

    If you blog under a assumed name, do you also have a real-world blog?
    nope.

    [DU: Interesting answers, thank you.]

  12. chicnoir Says:

    SD Which of them did you like better? (hi Chic)

    *chic noir waves back at SD and mumbles under breath*

    defualt Your attempt to make trouble has failed however, as I cannot (or will not) make a choice between the two posts. That would be like making a choice between two readers. :/

    I see you are learning much from maurices way of doing business with the lady folk. well played default.. well played.

    default

  13. Default User Says:

    @Chic
    Your answers regarding readers and comments are the same as mine: I certainly would like to feel people enjoyed, or found useful, my posts.

    It is probably true that a great change of wealth would affect (possibly negatively) your family and friends (or at least they way you see each other).

    I think your “gifts” answer is probably what most would think: I will take them if they are gifts (without cost) but would be much more reticent about trading (giving up something).

  14. chicnoir Says:

    default Your answers regarding readers and comments are the same as mine:

    now you know why I’m drawn to you. we are so much alike and where we are different we are compliments of each other ๐Ÿ˜€
    [DU: ๐Ÿ™‚ ]

Leave a Reply

