Deleted

by
WordPress.com

The authors have deleted this blog. The content is no longer available.

You can create (and then delete) your own free blog on WordPress.com.


Another blog goes poof over the weekend. This time it was Seasons of Tumult and Discord.

Why do bloggers do the blogocide thing. I can understand needing a break. I can understand deciding to quit. But why delete your blog without warning?

If you need a break, just tell your readers you are taking a break. If you want to quit, just do as Novaseeker did: Post a notice and leave your blog up. What is with the white-paging or 404ing?

Deleting a blog not only means the loss of the posts, it means the loss of the replies. Also a little warning might be polite. It is not like you remain hidden, as the pages will be cached in various place for at least some time (Google et al may eventually delete cached versions of deleted blogs.

This is not just about the Seasons of . . . bloggers, it is to all of you blog murderers out there. You know who you are (were).

19 Responses to “Deleted”

  1. An Unmarried Man Says:

    “Blogocide.”
    Clever.

    Thankfully you can’t take other blogs with you when you decide to pull the trigger, but you can take very precious links. I’m sure there are as many reasons as there are empty blog graves.

  2. Will S. Says:

    Yeah, I hate that too; it feels like a slap in the face to their readers. I suppose that most people who not only up and quit but delete their blogs don’t care about that, but they should hear it. Perhaps they find it cathartic, or think it will smooth things over if they’ve offended a loved one or something, but yeah, all the great links are lost, all the great posts are losts, and great discussion threads, etc. It seems like a selfish think to do, to me.

  3. Tarl Says:

    I am puzzled. You would think a two-man blog would be less likely to go poof than a one-man blog. And the blog seemed very active, with lots of posts and replies, so there was no obvious sign they were getting tired of it. I keep hoping it’s a technical glitch and it’ll come back…

  4. sdaedalus Says:

    I thought you’d deleted your blog when I saw the first part. Nice.

    I would suspect that the lad(s), like renegades, are lurking in the cellars of some tumbledown old pile somewhere.

  5. Anonymous Says:

    The last post in the cache was a clip from the opening of Apocalypse Now with the soundtrack The End – without any commentary.

    It’s like the ending of The Sopranos. Abrupt and mysterious.

  6. sdaedalus Says:

    The last post in the cache was a clip from the opening of Apocalypse Now with the soundtrack The End – without any commentary.

    The STD boys always had great style. I will be sorry to see the back of them.

  7. Default User Says:

    Thankfully you can’t take other blogs with you when you decide to pull the trigger . . .

    That would bring an entirely different meaning to “blog war”:
    It might start off with the enemy blogger performing a guerilla troll attack
    From there to heavy spam bombing.
    Then a move to removing random replies from the enemy blog.
    Then step up to removing entire posts.
    Finally would be the nuclear option, complete blog destruction of the enemy blog.

  8. Default User Says:

    @Will S.
    Unless private life intervened in a strong way (real identity outed where their blogging views would not be popular), I do not see the reason for a complete deletion. You can lock the blog from further comments and leave it as a fixed set of pages. I hope the Seasons guys are OK.

    @Tarl
    A two man blog might be twice as likely to go poof because it has two points of failure.

    @sdaedalus
    I thought you’d deleted your blog when I saw the first part. Nice.
    That was the idea.

    @Anonymous
    I did not see the last post (“The End”). Very clever.

  9. Matt Savage Says:

    I see this a lot with female sex bloggers who have/had anonymity but somehow get found out about at work, get reprimanded or fired over it, and of course, the reactionary thing for the author(s) to do would be to immediately delete the blog. Oh well, R.I.P. STD blog.

  10. Default User Says:

    If anonymity allows us to discuss things (the personal or unpopular) we might not be more public about, I can see how the loss of that anonymity would lead to a hurried destruction of the “evidence.”

  11. chic noir Says:

    SD The STD boys always had great style.
    they spread fire everywhere they went.

    I will be sorry to see the back of them.
    most women would be.

  12. chic noir Says:

    Yea, I hate blogerside too default. At least they can give you warning before they run off.

  13. Oh, Canada Says:

    […] went Tango Uniform, for good this time (link NSFW). Deansdale, Ulysses, Dave from Hawaii, and Default User have all posted their […]

  14. Default User Says:

    @chic

    At least they can give you warning before they run off.

    As Anonymous pointed out:

    The last post in the cache was a clip from the opening of Apocalypse Now with the soundtrack The End – without any commentary.

    So, I suppose, they did give a warning of sorts. I had missed that whne I posted.

  15. David Collard Says:

    Yes, very fond as I am of Cecilia/Black&German/Alte/Vanessa (she had various pennames), it was a little disappointing when she deleted her entire “Butterfly Squash” blog. I must have written thousands of words on that blog, and all that is now gone, “like tears in the rain” (sorry, I couldn’t resist, I love Bladerunner).

  16. David Collard Says:

    I sort of expected Seasons of Tumult and Discord to go. It was looking a lot like a poor cousin of In Mala Fide. I wondered if it was too similar, and did not fill a distinctive niche. It was very like In Mala Fide: a bit of cheesecake, a blog roll, and an acerbic tone. I was not entirely surprised to see it go.

  17. Default User Says:

    @David Collard
    I agree that the two were similar but they both had regular viewers and commenters. I would not have called them a pale imitation, any more than I would call Ferdinand a poor imitation of Roissy.

    For a while, I got bored with the blog war and self-aggrandizing stuff on at In Male Fide, and found that I visited less.

    Perhaps, I am just burned out on PUAsphere and political topics.

  18. Default User Says:

    @David Collard

    “like tears in the rain”

    Like a sigh in a shitstorm.

    I like the “tears in the rain,” it is a nice phrase.

  19. Another One Bites the Dust « Default User Says:

    […] have complained before about bloggers white paging their site. It seems one of the biggest bloggers in these parts has […]

Leave a Reply

