Test Card

by

SMPTE Color Bars

It has been so long since I bothered to post I felt that I might as well make it official.

If you care, you can read more about the SMPTE test card on my previous post with the same name.

75 Responses to “Test Card”

  1. Bhetti Says:

    Look at this:
    http://roissy.wordpress.com/2010/05/11/ms-paint-windows-to-the-soul/#comment-171081

  2. Default User Says:

    @Bhetti
    Thanks for the link, it is nice to be appreciated.

    PS
    Hi chic. Thanks for the shout out (and “social proof”).

  3. PA Says:

    Default, quit fucking around and ask Donald Pittenger about becomng a new Blowhard at 2Blowhards.

  4. Rebekah Says:

    I just want to say that I never liked you b/c of the interest of other girls. I always visit you when there is less going on here anyway — I’m not that competitive. I’m sure this will be chalked up as girly nonsense, but it’s true.

    I also read you are 42. Someone on another blog claims to know you and you are being discussed in small detail there. Another 10 years older and I could have been inspired to competition.

    I like the Myers-Briggs stuff; I like the quest of ‘why we are the way we are’ tone to everything you write… I appreciate the way you dip in and out of blog land, and I’m inspired to wonder if you do it a little bit in real life too.

    Hope you are well.

  5. chic noir Says:

    Rebekah, stay away from my man.

    Default when you’re ready to come out, I’m here for you.

  6. Rebekah Says:

    Chic,

    No need for the warning! I’m afraid I do not stand a chance amongst all you lovely blogger ladies — the competition is too fierce. Besides, Default is too young for me.

    My comment was merely to state that the draw to his blog so frequently, for me, was the sensing and comfort of a kindred spirit of sorts.

  7. sdaedalus Says:

    Rebekah, you’re in your early 30s as far as I’m aware. How is Default too young for you? I am intrigued.

  8. Rebekah Says:

    SD,

    I’m just extremely attracted to men in their 50’s. Perfect example: Morrissey! 🙂

  9. sdaedalus Says:

    Yes, but your affection for Morrissey is of long-standing, presumably you were also attracted to him when he was in his forties.

    You have to avoid looking for an exact Morrissey template in a man, you know. Otherwise if (heaven forfend) anything happens to him you will find yourself being attracted to corpses.

    I have to say in a wicked kind of way I enjoy the idea of a woman in her thirties rejecting a man in his forties for being too young, it is an interesting counterpart to the idea of a man in his forties rejecting a woman in her thirties for being too old.

  10. Rebekah Says:

    I don’t look for Morrissey in any man, as he is truly one of a kind. Whether Moz was a corpse or not, I’d still be attracted to him via the access I have to him: his pictures, his music, his poetry, etc. I love him from afar as it is, although I’d be absolutely mortified if he died.

    50-year-old men were not as attractive to me when I was in my 20’s — 40’s were perfect then.

    And I’m not rejecting Default, as this would imply an offer to reject. He obviously has his pick of the litter, and I would not be surprised if he preferred 20-somethings. We all have preferences. I have to say, though, he once called me “naughty” and it kind of stirred me.

  11. sdaedalus Says:

    Rebekah, you are very funny, you have made my night with “I’d be absolutely mortified if he died” and “pick of the litter”. Morrissey does not know what he is missing, you would cheer him up no end.

  12. Rebekah Says:

    Haha! I thought you’d appreciate the “litter” reference. 🙂

  13. Default User Says:

    @PA

    Default, quit fucking around and ask Donald Pittenger about becomng a new Blowhard at 2Blowhards.

    Given how little interest I recently have for updating my own blog, I cannot see me having the enthusiasm for someone else’s blog.

  14. Default User Says:

    @Rebekah
    Thanks for your kind words. Don’t worry about “competition.” I like and appreciate all my readers. I have always enjoyed your insights. I would not call what you said “girly nonsense” but it does reflect introversion and sensitivity, and there is nothing wrong with that (especially for a girl). Remember, us guys tend to like girly girls.

    I am not sure who is claiming to know me in real life at Roissy. I do not recognize the name. He is close but not correct on my age (don’t worry I am a bit older, if not quite in my 50s).

    And yes, I have been known to dip in and out of real life too (less than I do here in blog land). I am well, just not inspired to write blog entries.

    I have to say, though, he once called me “naughty” and it kind of stirred me.

    Sharing such details, you naughty girl.

  15. Default User Says:

    @chic

    Default when you’re ready to come out, I’m here for you.

    Thanks, but please be nice to the others. The “stay away from my man” stuff is not very friendly. In any case, according to the poll, you are still number one by a large margin. It is not just me that recognizes your loyalty.

  16. Default User Says:

    @sdaedalus

    I enjoy the idea of a woman in her thirties rejecting a man in his forties for being too young, it is an interesting counterpart to the idea of a man in his forties rejecting a woman in her thirties for being too old.

    It can be a cruel world.

  17. sdaedalus Says:

    You’ll just have to start adding on a few extra years, Default.

  18. chic noir Says:

    default Thanks, but please be nice to the others. The “stay away from my man” stuff is not very friendly
    *chic noir blushes*
    ok default.

    In any case, according to the poll, you are still number one by a large margin. It is not just me that recognizes your loyalty.

    *chic noir smiles big *

  19. chic noir Says:

    *chic noir fists bumps rebekah and makes nice*

    we are still cool rebakah.

  20. chic noir Says:

    @ Rebekah- If you don’t mind my asking, what is it you like about older men?

    Is it the old school manners?

    The way they cherrish younger women?

  21. Default User Says:

    @sdaedalus

    You’ll just have to start adding on a few extra years, Default.

    Fifty is the new thirty.

  22. Default User Says:

    @chic noir, Rebekah

    Chic: we are still cool rebakah.

    This harem/seraglio is hard work, but I am glad I seem to have calmed this crisis down. . .
    . . . for now anyway.

  23. Rebekah Says:

    Default,

    I’m not sure I count myself as among your harem. I’m too jealous and selfish to be a harem wife. Not that this tidbit will cause you any hardship.

    Chic,

    Hmmm…that’s a good question!  I’m not exactly sure what it is — the preference has kind of just always existed for me.  I definitely don’t think older men cherish younger women; if anything, they generally don’t seem as impressed by women.

    It’s very innate for me and hard to examine — I’ll have to think about this some more!

    Btw, glad we’re good.  🙂

  24. chic noir Says:

    default This harem/seraglio is hard work, but I am glad I seem to have calmed this crisis down. . .

    agreed and you lay more pipe than Roto Rotter without being a mean alpha cad.

  25. Default User Says:

    @chic noir

    agreed and you lay more pipe than Roto Rotter

    That made me smile.

    [Although the typo (a “rotter” would probably count as a cad).]

  26. Default User Says:

    @Rebekah

    I’m not sure I count myself as among your harem.

    I still hope you will visit from time to time (sans jealousy, of course 🙂 ), even if I am a bit young for you.

  27. chic noir Says:

    *chic noir walks thru to mark her terroritory*

    hi default 🙂

  28. chic noir Says:

    default That made me smile.
    good, you know I always aim to make you smile 🙂

    Although the typo (a “rotter” would probably count as a cad).]

    *sigh*
    it’s when I’m attempting to be funny that I make the most typos.

  29. Default User Says:

    @chic noir

    *chic noir walks thru to mark her terroritory*

    *default smiles and says “hi”*

    PS
    Don’t worry about the typos. If it were not for spell check (I paste my replies into Word to check), my posts would be full of such typos.

  30. Mandy! XD Says:

    Stop peeing everywhere chic. It’s not ladylike.

  31. Default User Says:

    @Mandy Stormy XD

    Stop peeing everywhere chic. It’s not ladylike.

    🙂
    That particular method of marking Chic marking her manor had not occurred to me.

  32. chic noir Says:

    lol@mandy

    I prefer to put a hicky on Default’s neck to let other women know he belongs to me.

  33. sdaedalus Says:

    You girls have just put Default off with all this possessiveness.

  34. brightstormyday Says:

    I prefer biting their necks and drinking some of their blood while they’re sleeping.

    Then they become my slaves.

  35. Default User Says:

    @Chic and Mandy
    Hicky territory markers and vampires, what interesting commenters I have.

  36. sheik it Says:

    Sir – a harem auction on ebay would be so web 2.0. The penthouse of the Burj Dubai has been converted into a seraglio in the sky – and awaits the beauties.

    For the role of chief enuch – David Alexander. The Dubai metro should be a draw.

  37. sdaedalus Says:

    @sheik it

    You’re surely not suggesting Default sell us off as used goods, are you?
    David Alexander being in *ahem* mint condition would fetch a better price.

  38. anoukange Says:

    Oh De—-when will you return? Your warmth and humor are missed so….

  39. anoukange Says:

    “Stop peeing everywhere chic. It’s not ladylike.”

    -god our little Mandy has some gems!

  40. anoukange Says:

    “Don’t worry about the typos. If it were not for spell check (I paste my replies into Word to check), my posts would be full of such typos.”

    What is THIS? Could it be? Could I somehow learn how to do this and stop torturing all in the blog sphere with my atrocious typos????

  41. sdaedalus Says:

    Oh De—-when will you return? Your warmth and humor are missed so….

    Just to reassure you Anouk, our Harem Master was still alive just after close of business on Wednesday evening, as far as I know (unless of course, he has a proxy minion to do his correspondence for him).

    But I suspect he has other things to occupy himself with at present, we must be patient.

  42. Default DJ Says:

    . . .our Harem Master was still alive just after close of business on Wednesday evening, as far as I know (unless of course, he has a proxy minion to do his correspondence for him).

    Thank you all for you kind comments. Default is alive and well.

    Sheik
    I will consider your auction idea, but I think I will leave David Alexander intact (any such modifications would be up to the purchaser).


    Default DJ
    (proxy minion of Default User)

  43. Bhetti Says:

    http://roissy.wordpress.com/2010/06/07/programming-notes-2/#comment-177496

  44. Default User Says:

    @Bhetti
    Thanks for the link. I think that readers of Renegade may soon tire of the Default saga (even if they have shown remarkable patience with GreatBooksForMen lzozlzlz).

    To the harematti:
    Despite the jokes with Sheik, despite the recession, I have no plans to sell out. I have no plans for a merger with the Chateau.
    [However, I am aware of the possibility of an attempted hostile takeover.]

  45. sdaedalus Says:

    I am aware of the possibility of an attempted hostile takeover.

    The problem with hostile takeovers has always been their lack of facility for due diligence. Sometimes one ends up having bought a pig in a poke.

    I hope that the potential takeover artist, whoever he (or she) is, is not overestimating the quality of the harem.

    Also, the best defence against hostile takeovers is high share value.

  46. Default User Says:

    . . .takeover artist. . .

    From PUA to TOA?

    Also, the best defence against hostile takeovers is high share value.

    Who said anything about sharing?

  47. chic noir Says:

    *chic noir waves*

    Hi default my love 🙂

  48. chic noir Says:

    sheik For the role of chief enuch – David Alexander
    LOLROF

  49. Default User Says:

    Hi there Chic. Nice too see you too.

  50. chic noir Says:

    Default, how is it that you’ve managed to have so many women fall all over you, yet maintain your image as the ultimate nice guy beta?

    I even have new chicks over at the chateau asking questions about you.

  51. Default User Says:

    @Chic
    I think the answer to your question is that been nice (having an agreeable disposition) is ok if it is a genuine reflection of character. It is only when it seems dishonest that it becomes unattractive.

    The PUA world talks a lot about “congruency,” niceness that seems congruent (honest) is far more attractive than niceness that seems incongruent (an act). I think that some of the appeal of the bad-boy is that they appear congruent in that they act just as they want to. While the bad-boy may retain his place at the head of romantic-fiction heroes, there will still be a place for the nice guy so long as does not act like a wimp.

    Another point to note is that any perceived attraction has happened in the virtual world. The real world can be different. It is easier to like (and dislike) people in the virtual world (perhaps because the cost of a mistake is lower).

    [A longer and more serious answer than I intended because I could not come up with anything witty or pithy]

  52. chic noir Says:

    It is easier to like (and dislike) people in the virtual world (perhaps because the cost of a mistake is lower).

    Point well noted but I would argue that the virtual world allows people to form less frivolous bonds since appearance is hidden.

    there will still be a place for the nice guy so long as does not act like a wimp
    and don’t you ever change default.

    *chic noir gives default a big kiss on the cheek*

  53. Default User Says:

    *chic noir gives default a big kiss on the cheek*

    *Default has big smile on face*

  54. johnny five Says:

    Point well noted but I would argue that the virtual world allows people to form less frivolous bonds since appearance is hidden

    heh. check those assumptions, sweetie; there’s a whole sex of people out there for whom a partner’s appearance is far from “frivolous”. ahem.

    i’ll also thank you to notice the irony in your posting this comment on a thread in which a large number of electrons are devoted to discussing posters’ ages.

    koan of the day:
    when you strip away the surface of something, the outer layer of what’s left is still … the surface.

  55. chic noir Says:

    johnny five check those assumptions, sweetie; there’s a whole sex of people out there for whom a partner’s appearance is far from “frivolous”. ahem

    I don’t think you read my comment. Sometimes “looks” get in the way of two people who would otherwise make a good couple.

  56. chic noir Says:

    Well default, It looks like you’ve turned your attention elsewhere. Don’t worry, I’ll get over you one day. I guess you can’t manage chic noir and the harem.

    *chic noir gets ready to perform breakup song for default user*
    *chic noir remembers everything pupu and nicole taught her*
    *chic noir becomes a Louise Brooks hipster ingénue*

  57. chic noir Says:

    * a stray tear makes its’ way down chic noir’s face*

    I’ll always love you default.

  58. chic noir Says:

    * chic noir drops mike and runs away*

  59. Default User Says:

    @chic Noir

    I’ll always love you default.

    I am touched. And I mean that, no flippant humor intended. Thanks.

    *Default gently wipes tear from Chic’s face*

  60. chic noir Says:

    *Default gently wipes tear from Chic’s face*

    * chic noir smiles*

    It’s beging to feel like old times default 🙂

  61. Default User Says:

    @Chic

    🙂

  62. chic noir Says:

    I have something to make you smile default.

    *chic noir leans in close for a kiss*
    take a guess what it is my darling.

  63. Default User Says:

    @Chic

    take a guess what it is my darling.

    I may have one a large prize, but only if I reply within the next 24-hours? :/

  64. chic noir Says:

    I may have one a large prize

    yea that’s what aoefe,anouck, and “depth” lady have said but I’m not talking about that. something else.

  65. chic noir Says:

    within the next 24-hours? :/

    that’s a lot of blood for 24 hrs. do be careful default.

  66. Default User Says:

    @chic

    “depth” lady

    Who is “depth” lady?

    that’s a lot of blood for 24 hrs

    Blood? Is this some vampire thing?

    PS
    In my earlier reply “one” should, of course, have been “won.”

  67. chic noir Says:

    The lady who said you have depth.

    no vampires, a large prize uses a lot of blood.

    Oh, nevermind default.

  68. Default User Says:

    @Chic

    Oh, nevermind default.

    You mean I will never find out?

    Guess I will just have to take that kiss you *leaned in* for.

  69. chic noir Says:

    *chic noir steps back after kissin default*
    *head spining and thigns tingling*
    Oh default, you’re something else.

  70. Default User Says:

    *flashes devilish alpha grin*

  71. chic noir Says:

    Hello default. How are you. Where are some of your regular e-hangouts?

    🙂

  72. Default User Says:

    Hi chic,

    I don’t really have any e-hangouts right now. I sometimes check in on various Roissysphere sites (including yours) but do not visit or comment at any on a regular basis.

    I did post a few comments at Roissy’s recently, but they went to moderation. Sadly moderated comments end up being a waste of time because when approved they appear before newer comments and so are not seen (as people look at the bottom of the comment list for new comments). In any case my posting, if any, there and elsewhere will probably remain haphazard.

    [a hint to bloggers. You can change the time on comments when you approve them to make approved comments appear at the end.]

    PS
    I just checked your blog and see you have several new (to me) posts. I will check them out .

  73. chic noir Says:

    aw, i was hoping to follow you around default. Not in a stalker way but just to check you out 🙂

  74. chic noir Says:

    http://1000awesomethings.com/

    for my awesome default. I think you’ll enjoy that blog 🙂

  75. Default User Says:

    @Chic
    I probably check in on many of the blogs you do, so you will see me if I post there.

    The 1000awsomethings blog looks good. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

