The New Look

by

In my previous thread I asked readers to suggest ideas for my new Gravatar.

In one reply Bhetti pointed to an image from the movie Avatar.

As I said in a reply on that thread:

I liked the look and I liked the joke (sort of meta humor) that my avatar is itself an avatar. Perhaps it is not meta humor but recursive humor.

Having suggested the winning grAvatar, Bhetti wondered if she might have a post “with a Default Graph or Plot of some sort.” How could I refuse?

Thank You Bhetti
Thanks Bhetti. As you can see from the graph below, you have made me happier than I was.

Avatar happines over time.

Happiness with my grAvatar over time. From a gray box, to Spiky hair, to a yellow box, to a grAvatar.

PS

Lest SDaedalus think that Default has forgotten her, let me just say that I appreciate her various canine-based suggestions. While Labrador puppies may reflect the reality of Default User’s personality sometimes it is nice to front a bit. For now the slightly more alpha (and feral) image will be how I present to the world. Such an image is no less honest than a depiction of me as George Clooney (or Robert Downey Jr.).

PPS

While I am in a puppy dog moment (one that does not match my new grrrAvatar), I would like to thank all the other readers whose comments made blogging worthwhile. I am feeling bereft of posting inspiration right now. If I do take a break, I will miss you all.

I wrote an earlier thread on my Gravatar in case you are interested.
Update: As of July 14, 2010 I changed my Gravatar again. This gravatar is (meant to look like) a ghost. It better reflects my current posting status.
Gravatar as of July 14, 2010

My new Gravatar as of July 14, 2010

23 Responses to “The New Look”

  1. sdaedalus Says:

    Thanks for the mention. Although SDaedalus found the labrador puppy image strangely attractive (must be that soft underbelly) she appreciates that the male ego may require a less soft and cuddly suit of armour when venturing out into the blogosphere.

  2. Default User Says:

    @SDaedalus

    Although SDaedalus found the labrador puppy image strangely attractive (must be that soft underbelly) she appreciates that the male ego may require a less soft and cuddly suit of armour when venturing out into the blogosphere.

    A man must be very careful to whom he exposes his soft underbelly.

    I love your gravatar, I think it works well for you. I am not sure that a puppy would ever work for a man. Perhaps a fully-grown dog, but even that is risky.

    While the blue guy is perhaps, more aspirational than representational it appeals to me on many levels. I like the look, it is kind of cool without been too showy (like that bright yellow box), it has the avatar/grAvatar recursive humor thing, it even keeps with the Default User theme because an avatar represents a (default?) computer user.

  3. Bhetti Says:

    Best way to ensure I find more ways of making you happy is to reward me amply for it 😉

    I cannot believe this avatar has exceeded the Mr. Spikey peak. You flatter me.

    Have you watched Avatar then?

  4. Bhetti Says:

    Well, you know. All the way through.

  5. Default User Says:

    @Bhetti

    Have you watched Avatar then?

    No, I have not. I suppose I would be interested in the seeing the best of the images in 3D, the clips I have seen (in 2D) look impressive. However, I am not going to sit through over two-and-a-half hours of it.

    I just thought the avatar picture you linked looked good. Although I may change it again, for now I am happy. Thank you.

  6. LILGRL Says:

    I guess I decided not to move, after all.

  7. Default User Says:

    @LILcmntr

    I guess I decided not to move, after all.

    So Epoxy shook the pasta box, and that was it?

  8. Default User Says:

    @LILGRL

    I guess I decided not to move, after all.

    That’s OK. I think anoukange was only suggesting travel for me.
    Edit
    I realize that suggestion was actually posted on another thread.

  9. Mandy!XD Says:

    mmm, mmm, YPON.

  10. Default User Says:

    @Mandy!XD
    Slowly

  11. Mandy!XD Says:

    oh hur hur.

  12. anoukange Says:

    Your new pic is scary.

  13. anoukange Says:

    or is it just because I haven’t seen the movie?

  14. Default User Says:

    @anoukange

    Your new pic is scary.

    But I am not, so relax.

    Did you prefer the yellow box? I have not seem the movie either.

  15. Default User Says:

    @anoukange

    Your new pic is scary.

    Perhaps you prefer this one. It is far from scary, but he has not had a movie role yet.

  16. anoukange Says:

    DF- You make me laugh a lot. 🙂 You have no idea what a lovely thing that is. Firepower is pretty funny too. The blue pic is potent and is too severe, the cute (southpark?) guy is too cutesy/immature. hmmmm….what is a pic for Default? Which is closest to the real you? Do tell!!

  17. Default User Says:

    @anoukange
    I agree the new avatar is not perfect. You analysis of both (Mr. Spikey and the grrrrrAvatar) is correct. Mr. Spikey is probably closer to reality (playful and a bit cheeky) the grrrrAvatar is perhaps aspirational (the desire to be more dynamic, forceful, and dare I say it, alpha).

    In the end I thought the image that Bhetti posted looked cool. As I said, I liked the humor of an Avatar being my (gr)avatar.

    I still have not found something that I can look at and say, “now that’s me.” Strangely, a real picture of me would not work because it would show what I look like, not who I am.
    [in any case I like the relative anonymity that I have]

    PS:
    I am glad to say that the yellow box did not really represent me (perhaps warmth, optimism).

    PPS:
    Creating an avatar for Firepower, now that would be fun.

  18. Default User Says:

    @fanoukange

    You make me laugh a lot. 🙂 You have no idea what a lovely thing that is.

    Actually I do, so thanks for saying it.

  19. Default User Says:

    @anoukange
    PS
    The Mr. Spikey character was created at http://www.sp-studio.de/

  20. anoukange Says:

    hmmm…Well, you can experiment a little possibly. “cheeky”, eh? People don’t use that word enough. 🙂

    p.s. Sorry for the mis-spelling of your name over at girl game. oops. as you say, ’tis my horrible typing skills.

  21. Deefawlt Uzer Says:

    @anookangie
    No problem on the misspelling. Perhaps I need a new, more exotic, name not a new avatar.

    My proofreading skills are so bad that I had to go back to the thread to see the misspelling. I had not noticed it before.

  22. maurice Says:

    I liked the spikey-haired South Park guy pretty well…

  23. Mr. Spikey Says:

    @maurice
    Thanks, I liked him too but that bastard killed me off. Replaced me with a yellow box. A yellow box, what the hell? And as for that blue . . . thing. Hmmmphhh!

Leave a Reply

