Bedazzled

by

To brighten things up I decided on a competition.

I offer you a chance to help Default User bedazzle with a new Gravatar. Your task is to help me get rid of the yellow box and its barely better successor the yellow box with some blue.

So what do you think would reflect your humble blogger. Mr Spikey may have captured my playful side but what about the more serious side.

You can post descriptions or links to images.

Winner gets a mention on these pages. With such a prize, I expect the competition to be intense. Good luck!

And the winner is
.
.
.
Bhetti.

For her suggestion of an avatar.
[Judges comment]

56 Responses to “Bedazzled”

  1. Rebekah Says:

    Pick someone you resemble in some way! If you participated in facebook’s doppelganger week, you could pick that person.

    {No need for a mention, I prefer to stay under the radar}

  2. Bhetti Says:

    I can’t remember what age you said you were. somewhere between 20 and 60.

  3. Default User Says:

    @Bhetti

    I can’t remember what age you said you were. somewhere between 20 and 60.

    Correct.

    Do you really think the linked picture captures my character?

  4. sdaedalus Says:

    Noooooo!!!!! I hate Gerard Butler (he reminds me of Gerry McCann, that dour Scots look). Don’t do it. If you must have a film star as your avatar, go for a silver screen icon (ps it would be nice if you picked one who looked like you)

  5. sdaedalus Says:

    ps apologies if you do in fact look like Gerard Butler, sadly this would be a deal breaker or at least you would have to make up for it in other ways.

  6. Default User Says:

    If you must have a film star as your avatar, go for a silver screen icon (ps it would be nice if you picked one who looked like you)

    That would be George Clooney then.

  7. Default User Says:

    sdaedalus

    If you do in fact look like Gerard Butler, sadly this would be a deal breaker or at least you would have to make up for it in other ways.

    I do not look like Mr Butler, and I still make up for it in other ways. How about that for a deal?

  8. sdaedalus Says:

    Remember not looking like Mr Butler only moves you up from minus to neutral.

    On the other hand I see you say above you look like George Clooney – that is quite a deal, although I don’t know…Mr Clooney wasn’t looking his best at the Oscars..

    Can you do Robert Downey Junior? Sorry to be picky, but women are changeable creatures.

  9. Default User Says:

    @sdaedalus

    Remember not looking like Mr Butler only moves you up from minus to neutral

    You are tough to please.

    Can you do Robert Downey Junior? Sorry to be picky, but women are changeable creatures.

    Very tough to please.
    [I look less like Downey than Clooney. And, to be honest, nobody has mistaken George Clooney for me. That said, I reckon I am at least passable in appearance and some might call boyishly handsome (my press agent). Will that do, or at least keep me from the negative zone?]

  10. sdaedalus Says:

    I guess that will do, but doesn’t take us much further with your avatar, as I presume you’re not going to use your real photo.

    Perhaps you could use a picture of whatever animal you identify most closely with (the “what animal do you remind me of” was a very popular game when I was in college, when instigated by me, it always succeeded in sending everybody off in a bad temper)

  11. Default User Says:

    @sdaedalus

    Perhaps you could use a picture of whatever animal you identify most closely with

    Actual: Something like a Labrador (warm, friendly, adaptable, playful)
    Aspirational: A big cat of some kind (smooth, graceful, with a hint of fearsome aggression. I would retain the playfulness of a kitten though).

    You are correct, I do not want to use a real picture (for anonymity reasons).

  12. sdaedalus Says:

    I prefer Labradors to cats (Alias Clio again, she could be my big sister)

    I am often categorised as a Cavalier King Charles spaniel (ears=hair)

    although when teething I was often compared to a hyena (night screams).

  13. sdaedalus Says:

    PS what do you get when you mix a Labrador & a Cavalier King Charles spaniel?

    a Cavrador.

  14. Bhetti Says:

    Do you really think the linked picture captures my character?

    I was kidding around…

    ..
    .

  15. sdaedalus Says:

    As playful as a puppy…

  16. sdaedalus Says:

    Or should that be playful as a liger?

    PS Ligers apparently have magikal powers.

    PPS As an American you probably won’t have heard of the Penguin Bar. Or the Liger Biscuit (both staple schoolyard snacks for the young SDaedalus)

  17. sdaedalus Says:

    Sorry Bhetti, I’ve just realised you aren’t in fact American. I was mixing you up with the big cat Default here.

  18. Bhetti Says:

    I’ve definitely heard of Penguins!

    Did the Liger biscuit go extinct, however??

  19. sdaedalus Says:

    It evolved into the Liga biscuit, as SDaedalus’s mother couldn’t cook, this baby food was her daily school lunch until a quite advanced age. She was subjected to regular negs about this from her male classmates on those rare occasions when they were not involved in pulling her pigtails (later this degenerated further into bra-strap snapping) One advantage of co-education was to make SDaedalus aware of the basic principles of Game (and Counter-Game) from a young age.

  20. sdaedalus Says:

    Default?

    You’re very quiet.

    Still waiting on that cavador…when are you going to oblige?

    This one would make a lovely avatar

  21. sdaedalus Says:

    Sorry, I spelt cavrador wrong above.

  22. Bhetti Says:

    Maybe Default User’s on a hott date.

  23. SDaedalus Says:

    I think there may be more to Default User than meets the eye alright.

    Also, he’s proved my theory that there’s nothing like the mention of puppies to make men run a mile.

    Bhetti, what type of animal do you most identify with?

    Or are you purely a spiritual being.

  24. Default User Says:

    It has been busy here.

    I will try to catch up.

  25. Default User Says:

    @sdaedalus

    I am often categorised as a Cavalier King Charles spaniel

    Which one is you?

  26. Default User Says:

    @Bhetti

    I was kidding around…

    Well that is good news.

  27. Default User Says:

    @sadaedalus

    Also, he’s proved my theory that there’s nothing like the mention of puppies to make men run a mile.

    It is not so much the mention as the suggestion that I use it as my gravatar. Would George Clooney have a puppy gravatar? Would Mr. Rochester have a puppy dog gravatar?

  28. Default User Says:

    @sdaedalus

    You’re very quiet.

    Still waiting on that cavador…when are you going to oblige?

    The thought of this as my gravatar, the image I want to show the word, the way the world sees me, was enough to stun me into silence.

  29. SDaedalus Says:

    It’s good enough for you.

  30. Default User Says:

    @sdaedalus

    It’s good enough for you.

    Who took away your doggy treat?

    PS
    http://www.ckcsc.org/ (Cavalier King Charles Spaniels Club) shows many different types for the breed.

    From this picture http://www.ckcsc.org/CKCSC/ckcsc_inc.nsf/tic-tac-head.jpg I am guessing the bottom right is you.

  31. SDaedalus Says:

    I am often categorised as a Cavalier King Charles spaniel

    Which one is you?

    I am the sad one who realises she’s been gamed. Your national holiday message was used to bait a trap for me on Roissy’s site.

    I’m going to sleep now. Sniff.

    Look at that sad spaniel & weep.

  32. SDaedalus Says:

    No the face is too brown on the bottom right one, she’s more of a Pamela Anderson spaniel type.

    I’m a blonder version of the top left hand one (I can’t believe you actually have me comparing myself to a dog here, I really need to get some sleep)

    It wasn’t so much that the doggy treat was taken away as that it was waved in front of me but never actually materialised.

  33. Bhetti Says:

    My mother always said I was a cat.

    I tend to agree.

  34. Dewoof User Says:

    @sdaedalus

    Look at that sad spaniel & weep.

    Well I think it’s cute.

    As for the Roissy comment, I guess I am in the dog house but do not know why. Of course as a little puppy, I should be in the dog house.

  35. Bhetti Says:

    You want an avatar?

    Here is an avatar.

  36. Default User Says:

    @Bhetti
    Actually that is not bad.
    [it certainly is an Avatar]

  37. SDaedalus Says:

    here’s my new avatar

    http://www.1st-art-gallery.com/George-Stubbs/A-Liver-And-White-King-Charles-Spaniel-In-A-Wooded-Landscape,-1776.html

  38. SDaedalus Says:

    Extract from wikipedia definition of Cavalier King Charles Spaniel:

    “The breed is highly affectionate, they are playful, extremely patient and eager to please. As such, dogs of the breed are good with children and other dogs. Cavaliers are not shy about socializing with much larger dogs. Cavaliers will adapt quickly to almost any environment, family, and location. Their ability to bond with larger and smaller dogs make them ideal in houses with more than one breed of dog as long as the other dog is trained. Cavaliers are great with people of all ages, from children to seniors, making them a very versatile dog. They rank 44th in Stanley Coren’s The Intelligence of Dogs, being of average working/obedience intelligence. Cavaliers are naturally curious and playful, but also enjoy simply cuddling up on a cushion or lap.

    Cavaliers are active and sporting. They have an instinct to chase most things that move including while on busy streets, and so most Cavaliers will never become “street-wise”. As Cavaliers tend to regard all strangers as friends, they will also never make a good guard dog. Being a spaniel they have a strong hunting instinct, and therefore should be watched around birds and small animals. However, owners have reported that through training their Cavaliers live happily with various hamsters, gerbils and so on.”

  39. SDaedalus Says:

    ok default I think I’ve found yr new gravatar

    http://images.google.ie/imgres?imgurl=http://toberead.files.wordpress.com/2009/06/george_clooney_01.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.democraticunderground.com/discuss/duboard.php%3Faz%3Dview_all%26address%3D105x8917743&usg=__VcgSKrE6Z6W4vC4iLZBsfG7P__w=&h=510&w=445&sz=38&hl=en&start=2&sig2=FpYEXIujmPz3_2ARdtiM5w&um=1&itbs=1&tbnid=51tNZ5GU9gzMpM:&tbnh=131&tbnw=114&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dgeorge%2Bclooney%2Bpuppy%26um%3D1%26hl%3Den%26lr%3D%26sa%3DN%26tbs%3Disch:1&ei=ZAijS5-mH8jm4gb_m7n5CQ

  40. SDaedalus Says:

    ok Default I’ve just found yr new gravatar

    (scroll down to 2nd picture)

    http://www.serbia.com/sr/2009/10/george-clooney-to-produce-tv-pilot/

    puppy looks a bit cross though, maybe she’s realising she’s been gamed.

    Back to sleep now

  41. SDaedalus Says:

    also, robert downey junior’s first role

    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0066234/

    and first line

    (the first of the two clooney comments immediately above is superfluous)

  42. Default User Says:

    @SDaedalus

    here’s my new avatar

    I like it. It certainly looks better on you than it would on me.

  43. Default User Says:

    @SDaedalus

    Extract from wikipedia definition of Cavalier King Charles Spaniel

    There are certainly aspects of my personality in that description. I will leave people to guess wich ones.

  44. Default User Says:

    SDaedalus

    (scroll down to 2nd picture)

    George Clooney and a puppy, I suspect that SDaedalus is very happy right now. No wonder she added that she would go “[b]ack to sleep now.” All the better to dream of raising puppies with Mr. Clooney (perhaps in a manor house with aforementioned Mr. Clooney dressed in a nightshirt and Robert Downey Jr. serving as groundskeeper).

    After writing the above, I noticed that you have moved your affections to Mr. Downey. Perhaps you would prefer to switch the roles above and move the recently struck George Clooney to the position of groundskeeper while promoting Mr. Downey to wearer of the nightshirt.

    In any case, sweet dreams my sweet dreamer.

  45. Default User Says:

    SDaedalus

    also, robert downey junior’s first role

    What caused Clooney to fall out of favor? What did Mr. Downey do to rise in your estimation?

  46. sdaedalus Says:

    Perhaps you would prefer to switch the roles above and move the recently struck George Clooney to the position of groundskeeper while promoting Mr. Downey to wearer of the nightshirt.

    Nice vision… esp if Queen Anne manor house (my favourite type of architecture)

    Is a very very very difficult choice between George & Robert.

    I never thought I would desert George.

    But his appearance at the Oscars was a bit of a Wile E Coyote moment (that hair… why? why? why? evil woman to encourage a man like that to let himself go to keep herself safer… we’re talking about the destruction of a Great National Monument here)

    And I can’t resist Robert Downey Junior’s puppy dog eyes.

    In a bit of a dilemma here. Should I exclude George altogether & just add in James Purefoy in his place?

    But James and Robert are too similar in colouring. It would be nice to have more variety.

    Plus, running two men at one time has never been one of my talents [too much energy needed, sigh, also too much potential for hurt]

    I’m afraid it will just have to be a winner takes all situation. Maybe we could do it by way of an essay competition [photo to be included on accompanying application form of course]

  47. sdaedalus Says:

    What caused Clooney to fall out of favor?

    Oscar hair. Getting a bit smug too. He’s starting to remind me of a former Prime Minister in my country (grey hair) Also, slight ooze of sleaze. Soon, will be parody of himself (unless he wakes up)

    What did Mr. Downey do to rise in your estimation?

    Little boy lost look (soft underbelly) Talent. Courage in getting through difficult times & making a comeback (not easy, SD has been there herself on a number of occasions) Also, so nice to see a sexy Sherlock Holmes.

  48. sdaedalus Says:

    Extract from wikipedia definition of Cavalier King Charles Spaniel

    There are certainly aspects of my personality in that description. I will leave people to guess wich ones.

    It’s definitely all about you you you, isn’t it. Men.

    You were supposed to be the Labrador. I was supposed to be the King Charles Spaniel (as per gravatar)

    That’s my personality we’re talking about in that description.

    The wikipedia entry for labrador is here

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Labrador_Retriever

    I note they sometimes vanish without warning

    (presumably to go to the gym as labradors apparently need lots of physical activity)

    Now what dog would Mr Rochester be?

    PS Admittedly labradors & King Charles spaniels have a lot in common as regards personality.

  49. Default User Says:

    @sdaedalus

    It’s definitely all about you you you, isn’t it. Men.

    Oh stop complaining!

    Edit:
    Despite your terrier like tone (“Yap, yap”), I read that reply again, and see that I made the mistake of assuming it was about me. So I will roll over on my back and wag my tail, looking for forgiveness.

  50. Default User Says:

    @sdaedalus
    The Labrador does sound more like me. I should have read your first reply more carefully.

  51. sdaedalus Says:

    Thanks I was a bit worried about loss of identity there.

  52. Default User Says:

    Bhetti wins for now.

    My new Gravatar is . . .
    . . . an avatar.

    I liked the look and I liked the joke (sort of meta humor) that my avatar is itself an avatar. Perhaps it is not meta humor but recursive humor.

  53. Bhetti Says:

    Well, I know you promised nothing. But I would like a new post with a Default Graph or Plot of some sort if that would be okay.

  54. sdaedalus Says:

    I like your new avatar gravatar, although its direct gaze is a little intimidating, its eyes almost tend to undress one, making any question of what one is wearing of course redundant.

    It is definitely more of an alpha gravatar, although it does beg the question whether or not it is possible for a gravatar to be too alpha? Presumably the fact that this question is being asked at all means that it is a successful choice.

    It fits in well with the big cat thing also. And it will definitely give you a better chance with Poetry of Flesh. The eyes are exactly the same colour as GV8’s.

    All in all, a good choice, although I do feel rather intimidated by that direct gaze.

  55. sdaedalus Says:

    PS I think you should go and post on Poetry’s blog with your new avatar and see her reaction. Of course before doing so all my references to her on your blog will have to be edited.

  56. Default User Says:

    @SDaedalus

    I think you should go and post on Poetry’s blog with your new avatar

    I have never posted before. Indeed I only visited after your mention of her (I only knew her through Roissy postings).

    By coincidence, I almost did comment on a recent post of hers. However, my comment would have seemed critical, and I did not want that for my first comment.

    To post a critical comment now (with my new alpha grrrAvatar) might seem a bit try-too-hard.

Leave a Reply

