The Death of Mr. Spikey

by

The more observant of you will have noticed that my gravatar is different. The cheeky spikey haired guy has gone. Despite my attention-seeking headline, he is not dead. He has just retired from active duty. He will still come back to perform some of the disk jockey duties and will often appear on the lighter threads.

My original Gravatar.

Mr. Spikey R.I.P

I had grown fond of him. He was created because I was tired of been represented by an abstract gray box. I wanted something that represented my mischievous, cheeky, and fun side. By design he does not look a anything like me, he did I hope represent me (or at least a part of me).

I have gone almost full circle. I rebelled against an abstract box representing me. I changed to a cartoon character. Now, once again, an abstract box will represent me. I am not entirely happy with the current form but I am satisfied. For now the yellow box will have to do.

My new Gravatar. A yellow box.

A Yellow box. Progress?

I did not choose the box and its color at random; it does have some meaning to me. For now, I will leave each of you to read into it what you want. If you feel you want to comment I would be interested in hearing your thoughts.

Update: As of March 15, 2010 I changed my Gravatar away from the yellow box. The current one is not a lot better but I was tired of that yellow box. [see earlier note here]
Temporary Gravatar.

Gravatar that I used for a while in March 2010.

Update: As of March 19, 2010 I changed my Gravatar again. As per a suggestion by Bhetti when I asked for ideas in the Bedazzled thread. My new Gravatar is indeed an avatar.
Gravatar from March to July 2010

My latest gravatar as of March 2010.

Update: As of July 14, 2010 I changed my Gravatar again. This gravatar is (meant to look like) a ghost. It better reflects my current posting status
Gravatar as of July 14, 2010

My new Gravatar as of July 14, 2010

31 Responses to “The Death of Mr. Spikey”

  1. Hope Says:

    Yellow is a very visible, warm color, often denoting joy, happiness, sunshine, upbeat. It is a contrast with blue which is calm, serene, serious, sometimes depressive. Yellow is also used as a warning color sometimes.

    It’s also associated with the orient, east, “yellow” race, etc. Incidentally in Chinese, the golden yellow color is usually worn by royalty because the word for yellow, pronounced “huang,” is the same sound as “royalty” or “emperor.”

    A solid choice overall.

  2. Default User Says:

    I don’t want to say too much yet. I want to see if others offer their observations.

    Is “huang” like the “huang: John Huang (mid 1990s Democratic bag man). As I recall it would be said (at least in Anglosphere) as “Wong,” is that correct?
    [at least I think the name was said that way, the word could be different]

    I never thought of the orient aspect of yellow but I do like the royalty or even “emperor.” I should point out that is emperor does wear clothes (except for those times when it would be inappropriate).

  3. Carl Says:

    Yellow is also a color that represents cowardice. Perhaps the yellow box is what we place ourselves in when we give into our fear. It could be a reminder to not be a coward. Or it could be ironic.

  4. Default User Says:

    @Carl
    I never thought of the cowardice link for yellow. I probably would have used a more primary-color version for that. No irony intended either.

    I will explain my thinking later (it is not that deep) but I just wanted to see what other people saw in it.

  5. Default User Says:

    The new avatar and explanation.

    Hope was right when she said:

    Yellow is a very visible, warm color, often denoting joy, happiness, sunshine, upbeat. It is a contrast with blue which is calm, serene, serious, sometimes depressive.

    My choice was mostly aesthetic. I wanted something that looked pleasing to my eye.

    I chose the yellow color for many of the reasons above. The orangey/yellow shade I chose represents energy, optimism, the future, as well as the things Hope mentioned. To me it is warm, inviting and cheerful.

    I had a sense the look I wanted but needed some inspiration. A quick search provided Henri Matisse: Yellow Curtain. I liked both the blue and the yellow color. My original attempt at an avatar included a bit of both. I cut the center part of the picture out including some of the blue.
    The blue represented calmness, stability and serenity.

    Reduced in size it did not look so good. It might also leave people wondering what it was; a single color is more obviously an abstraction. I liked that the yellow color had texture, even if that does not show up so well reduced to avatar size.

    I would prefer something that had more form but did not lose the abstraction or overriding color. I may even try to create something myself. For now, though, Default User will say hello to the world as a yellow box.

  6. Default DJ Says:

    But don’t worry. I (Mr. Spikey) have not gone away entirely. Default User will sometimes let me out of my (yellow) box.

  7. brightstormyday Says:

    Yellow is also the color of urine.

  8. Default User Says:

    @brightstormyday

    Yellow is also the color of urine.

    That was kind of a pissy comment. 🙂

  9. brightstormyday Says:

    You know you liked it.

    Why don’t you ever talk to me anymore. Come back into my life.

  10. Default User Says:

    @brightstormyday

    You know you liked it.

    I do love it when a girl talks dirty.

    And I am talking to you now, aren’t I?

  11. brightstormyday Says:

    dirty old man. ;]

  12. Default User Says:

    @brightstormyday

    dirty old man. ;]

    Hey, what’s with the “old” part?
    [I will say nothing about the “dirty” part]

    PS:
    Are you enjoying blogging?

  13. Chic Noir Says:

    mandy xd- quit flirting wit my man okay!

  14. Default User Says:

    @Chic Noir

    mandy xd- quit flirting wit my man okay!

    Hey Chic it has been a few days since brightstormyXD’s last post. Maybe she has quit already. I think she does not like “dirty old” men.

  15. brightstormyday Says:

    Blogging’s okay Defaulty.

    And I forgot, you’re not a man anymore, you’re the aftermath of a doggie’s rainshower. ;-;

    That’s not cool, Default. You should change that.

  16. Default User Says:

    @brightstormyday

    And I forgot, you’re not a man anymore, you’re the aftermath of a doggie’s rainshower. ;-;

    LOL That was harsh.
    *Looks at brightstormyday with sad puppy dog eyes*
    *whimpers quietly*

  17. (Non Doggy)Default Says:

    @brightstormyday

    And I forgot, you’re not a man anymore, you’re the aftermath of a doggie’s rainshower. ;-;

    That’s not cool, Default. You should change that.

    Just for you. Just this once. Now stop complaining.

  18. brightstormyday Says:

    ok.

    I love you. ❤

  19. brightstormyday Says:

    I’ll hug you forever and not let go! :O

  20. Default User Says:

    @brightstormyday

    ok.I love you. ❤

    Me, or my (gr)avatar?
    PS I do agree that I probably need a better (gr)avatar but I currently have no enthusiasm for designing or finding a new one.

  21. Default User Says:

    @brightstormyday

    I’ll hug you forever and not let go! :O

    You will make David Alexander jealous.
    [Of course you could offer hugs to him as well]

  22. brightstormyday Says:

    You know, I have this theory that you might be a hobbit.

  23. Default User Says:

    @brightstormyday

    You know, I have this theory that you might be a hobbit.

    You flirty flatterer. 😉

  24. brightstormyday Says:

    😉

    You know it.

    I’ll send you an email.

  25. Default User Says:

    @brightstormyday

    I have this theory that you might be a hobbit.

    I am not sure about the hairy feet thing and I am a bit taller than three feet six inches, but this sounds right:

    Hobbits can sometimes live for up to 130 years, although their average life expectancy is 100 years. The time at which a young Hobbit “comes of age” is 33, thus a fifty-year-old Hobbit would only be entering middle age.
    [link]

  26. brightstormyday Says:

    yeah.

    That’s you.

    And I’m Gandalf.

    “You shall not pass!”

    oh yeah.

    I’m awesome.

  27. Default User Says:

    @brightstormyday

    oh yeah. I’m awesome

    And modest too.

    But are you really a grey-haired wizard?

  28. brightstormyday Says:

    My modesty surpasses that of…everyone.

    And I can be!

    If I pretend really, really hard.

  29. brightstormyday Says:

    Just like I pretend really, really hard that you’re three and a half feet tall.

  30. Default User Says:

    @brightstormyday

    My modesty surpasses that of…everyone.

    “Oh Lord it is so hard to be humble…”
    [work safe YouTube video]

  31. Default User Says:

    @brightstormyday

    Just like I pretend really, really hard that you’re three and a half feet tall.

    I am at least four feet tall thank you very much. . .
    . . . those elevator shoes I bought from a TV informercial really help.

Leave a Reply

