Test Card

by

Normal service resumes.

SMPTE Color Bars

It does not seem that long ago when TV stations would actually shut down at night. For a few happy hours the incessant drone of talking heads, the inane cackle of laugh tracks, the ceaseless exhortations to not just sit there but BUY something would end. A solemn voice would bid you goodnight and you would be left with silence* and the wondrous beauty of the SMPTE test pattern.
*actually most stations transmitted a test-tone as well. You can have the full experience via YouTube. The test card did change over time. You can watch the evolution of the color bars via YouTube.

Those brief hours of rest from the constant chatter were good. They gave you time to think of other things. They may have provided notice that there are other things you could be doing.

While the Internet can provide interaction and engagement far ahead of television it is still more chatter. Indeed the interactive nature can become a reward in itself. We can end up clicking buttons and waiting for a response just like rats in an experiment clicking a bar to get more food.

The Internet, just like television, can become habit. It is something we do because it is something we do. Not all habits are good and some can become stifling or distracting. Indeed they can even become addicting. As I said in a reply on another thread: the best way to prove you can quit any time, is to quit any time.

This is my way to say that I will be taking a break from posting. I am not going away for good, just taking a brief vacation. I have been gratified that anyone found these postings interesting enough to read. I am grateful for all those who commented and offered advice, encouragement, or just good cheer. Posting some of the TMI stuff was helpful to me. I hope that it may have provided some help to others.

I may still post some lighter stuff. That spikey haired guy may well perform weekend DJ duties from time-to-time. Those threads are fun to create and easier (if I am hit by “inspiration”).

If the finding a chick for Default or finding the hottest man on Roissy’s are not enough to keep you occupied then I offer some test card trivia below.

The Color Bars

The test pattern shown at the top of this thread is the standard SMPTE (Society of Motion Picture and TV Engineers) color bars. These are far more useful than they look, allowing many aspects of the signal and the television to be checked and calibrated.

The Native American Head Pattern

Indian Head Test Pattern

Indian Head Test Pattern


One of the oldest test patterns is the Indian Head. I am sure modern PC sensitivities would be much more comfortable with the abstract color bars (although that word itself is fraught with difficulties, perhaps it should be “bars of color”). Again this allowed many aspects of the signal and display to be monitored and set. The boxes and circles showed errors of display geometry, the fine lines checked resolution, and even the Indian head provided a check of display characteristics.

The PLUGE

Pluge Pattern

Pluge Pattern


The PLUGE (Picture Line Up Generation Equipment) pattern is one you may have seen (along with the Color Bars) on some DVDs. They appear on special calibration DVDs but also as a menu option of some regular DVDs. The PLUGE allows you set the brightness and contrast of your display. There is some argument over how to say the word but I have only ever heard Plooge (sounds like scrooge).
Brightness: Is more accurately called black level. It sets the level of the darkest part of the picture.
Contrast: Is more properly called white level. It sets the level of the brightest part of the picture.
Super Black The darkest part of a TV picture is not set to zero. For various technical reasons it is set above that. (7.5 IRE for those that care about and understand such stuff). This means that it is possible to actually have something that is blacker than black. Some refer to this as “super-black.” Indeed it is the existence of super black that allows the PLUGE pattern to be used for setting black (brightness) levels.
[I am too lazy to write up the procedure. In any case, most discs with the pattern will contain instructions.]

The Laserdisc Turtle

Long before there was DVD, there was Laserdisc. Laserdisc offered higher resolution than VHS. Although using a laser the picture was stored as an analog signal. The discs were heavy 12″ in diameter and much more awkward to handle than DVD or VHS. The discs (like LP records) had two sides. This meant a break in the movie to flip the disc.
[Later machines used a rotating pickup to automatically “flip the disc.”]

Due to limitations on storage, some movies spread to two discs. Sometimes only one side of the second disc was filled. This left the other side empty. All the discs had a message on the empty side. Some used the turtle shown below.

Laserdisc Turtle

Laserdisc Turtle

Game note:
While a laserdisc collection is unlikely to win the girl’s heart, the turtle does induce the “ahh that’s so cute” response. Perhaps any laser-loving PUAs could use that to their advantage.

Test Card F

The BBC’s test card “F” provides the answer to the following trivia question: “What female has had more hours of TV time than any other, yet you won’t know her name?”

The answer to the question is Carole Hersee. She is the young girl that features in the test card below. Test card “F” has been copied by stations around the world. Estimates put its total airtime at 70,000 hours. Hersee is now in her fifties but was eight years old at the time she first appeared. She is the daughter of BBC engineer George Hersee, who developed the card in 1967.

BBC Test Card F

BBC Test Card F

AS with other patterns all of the elements have a use. Even the clown and chalkboard have a purpose. The “X” on the chalk board represents (on some versions) the center of the picture. The clown’s buttons will show up transmission or decoding errors (chroma/luma delay).

For a blogger who has a reputation for charts and graphs, this post seems very in character. If I could add a story about how test patterns made me depressed, it would be perfect.

Closedown

For all of you that read along (on this post and others), thank you. I hope you enjoyed the show so far. I hope you will return when I recommence transmissions.
[show clock or flag or nice nature scenes]
[cue national anthem]
[fade to black]
[show color bars]
Because I am such a sweet guy, I will save you the annoying tone.

69 Responses to “Test Card”

  1. chic noir Says:

    *chic noir falls to her knees but not like that so don’t get happy folks*
    *wails*
    Default why why why must you leave me again?
    Don’t you care about defaulta and default jr?

    *chic lets out body shaking sobs*

    *chic jumps up and wraps her body around default*

    NO NO NO I won’t let you go. NO I refuse to let you go. You belong to and with me.

  2. David Alexander Says:

    Damn, I’m going to miss this distraction away from Roissy’s place…

  3. Default User Says:

    @David Alexander

    Damn, I’m going to miss this distraction away from Roissy’s place

    So will I, but that is why I am taking the break. In any case there is the matchmaking threads to keep everyone busy.

    Actually, I have not stopped by the Château for a while. I did enjoy many of the discussions and I liked many of the posters, but I do not miss it.

    Without this distraction, I might check back a bit more often. That said I probably will not post. Once you post, the check-for-a-reply-and-respond-to-that-reply loop has you in its grip.

    PS:
    I admitted to knowledge of (and indeed a collection of) laserdiscs. I think laserdiscs about equal railfanning on the geek scale (although I do have the turtle).

  4. Twitted by fbardamu Says:

    […] This post was Twitted by fbardamu […]

  5. David Alexander Says:

    I did enjoy many of the discussions and I liked many of the posters, but I do not miss it.

    Admittedly, other than PA and baiting Roissy, that site has lost quite a bit of it’s allure for me especially with the “spinoff” blogs from the friendlier side of the internet. It’s attention, but in far nicer and more comforting places.

    Once you post, the check-for-a-reply-and-respond-to-that-reply loop has you in its grip.

    I think I’ve lost track of how many classes and days of work that I missed due to that cycle. Hell, I ended up missing out on perfectly good railfan or roadgeek adventures and nights out with Athena and other friends. Then there were the times that I pissed off my mom by making her wait for me…

    think laserdiscs about equal railfanning on the geek scale (although I do have the turtle).

    Hehe, geekiness is cool no matter what girls think. 🙂

  6. Default User Says:

    @David Alexander

    Admittedly, other than PA. . .

    I like PA for his strong defence of rational immigration policy and the interests of the majority population in the US.

  7. Default User Says:

    @David Alexander

    Damn, I’m going to miss this distraction away from Roissy’s place

    One place you could visit is the-spearhead.com. This is Welmer’s new meta blog. It has many Roissysphere commenters. It looks like it will be very good.

    Ferdinand Bardamu’s blog is good as well. It also has many Roissysphere commenters.

    That is not to dismiss the other (Whiskey, Novaseeker, et al) but you probably know those already.

  8. Bhetti Says:

    I had a thought re: you, which is how your posting patterns are similar to manic mood swings. That is not to say they are (I think you would have noticed). Often enough, psychological mental illness seems to be simply exaggerations of healthy defenses, feelings and reactions. But anyway, your thoughts re: how true/to what extent your patterns correspond?

  9. David Alexander Says:

    Re: Default

    Ferdinand Bardamu is actually on the blogroll of another blogger that I read, so I’ll give him a chance. I’ll stay away from Welmer’s meta blog primarily because those blogs are just downright depressing. It’s best to be read in small doses or not at all like HBD blogs, especially since my viewpoints don’t fit in the sphere of the men’s right realm. Any comments that I make there will either be ignored or reek of intellectual fecal bait designed to whip up commenter sentiment and attention.

    As for PA, I’m not fond of his immigration policies, but that’s because I’m the child of immigrants who are classified by PA as the “problem”.

  10. Default User Says:

    @Bhetti

    I had a thought re: you, which is how your posting patterns are similar to manic mood swings.

    I am fairly sure I am not manic-depressive. The manic phase in those who suffer is usually accompanied by strong bursts of energy. I never have had that. Indeed, it was the realization that my up periods were what normal should feel like started me on seriously trying to fix my brain.

    Regarding the mood swings: Are you referring to the recent dust-up at she-who-rarely-posts-here’s (aoefe) blog?

    I have suffered an extended case of the blues (not clinical level) with a few periods of deeper depression. Dysthymia is probably the best description. I have had brief periods of normality. Recently I seem to be normal. I do not want to call a cure because I have been fooled before. For now I would consider my mood normal. If it lasts, I will have the energy to improve my life, energy that was mostly lacking before.

  11. Default User Says:

    @David Alexander

    I am not sure what your problem with the MR types is. I do not believe that The Spearhead will cover the PUA stuff or HBD in any great concentration.

    Do you have a problem with any of the principles discussed in the two links below?
    http://www.the-spearhead.com/2009/09/24/an-introduction/
    http://www.the-spearhead.com/2009/09/22/toward-a-core-set-of-principles-for-men/

    What do disagree with on these articles?
    http://www.the-spearhead.com/2009/09/23/a-brotherhood-without-borders/
    http://www.the-spearhead.com/2009/09/25/everyone-lives-through-history-we-just-dont-realize-it/

    So far, I do not see the blog as depressing. It looks like a strong assertion of wholesome masculinity.

  12. Bhetti Says:

    Pattern: commenting. flurry of commenting. not commenting. posting. flurry of posting. deciding to give up posting.

    That’s what I’m referring to (I realise mood swings triggered ‘dust-up??’ but I was thinking energy vs. no energy rather than emotion really). I think it’s a fairly normal pattern, really.

  13. David Alexander Says:

    Re: Default

    The four articles are of good quality, and there isn’t anything that remotely controversial or disagreeable about them from my perspective. The problem that I’ve had with the Whiskyists and Novaseeker is this idea among the more pessimistic posters that the world around is falling apart and the notion among some readers that the old school patriarchy is some magical cure. I don’t want to live under a patriarchy or a matriarchy because under both systems, there is no room for somebody like me who isn’t some masculine hard-ass and who isn’t fully effeminate. Women are attracted to alpha males, and short of that there’s nothing that we can do about it except to embrace this fact and simply work our way around it.

    As a side point, I was generally disturbed by the latent homophobia while reading a recent post at Novaseeker’s about Elton John being turned down for adoption due to his homosexuality. I’m far less inclined to view homosexuality as some grave evil and the reason as to why beta males are suffering, and I’d much rather have orphans living with a gay family than in the hands of social workers…

  14. Default User Says:

    @Bhetti

    Notes:
    1 [There is a slight bullet point feel to this. A sort of PowerPoint presentation feel. I hope the clarity is better than some of the PowerPoint decks I have suffered through]

    2 [I am not sure how to describe my position. I use the term mood but energy might be better. I do not necessarily feel “sad” when in a down period. In spite of the impression I might give, I tend towards happiness and optimism. My down periods are more an inability to enjoy those good feelings and put them to use.]

    I am not sure I understand what you mean by flurry of posting. I hope I answered your question here. Either way I am interested in your thoughts. While I do not want to become overly reflective and self absorbed an external reference may help.

    My posting can be determined by free-time. More free-time equals more posting. Once I have made a reply I end up in the reply-respond loop.

    No, I don’t believe mood/energy swings had anything to do with the SLT dust-up. It may have reflected boredom but it did not reflect either an angry attitude or a manic disposition

    I can be in a serious of lighthearted frame of mind but that is different from mood/energy (I am sure I have used “mood” to describe these differences – a victim of my own imprecision).

    Posting breaks are more to do with boredom. You know, the same people, the same arguments, and the same non-conclusions. I hardly ever visit Roissy anymore. I sometimes scan the front page and perhaps scan a thread. I see the same old names and the same old discussions and just feel no need to take part. I saw the new girl game (groan) site linked from Ferdinand. I went there and I saw the same old names. I was almost going to take issue with some of the comments before I realized it would just be another futile argument on the Internet.
    [Roissy’s dog training thread did not look bad. The title was typical Roissy but the idea was not bad]

    After a break, those places can seem fresh again and thus I might post a reply. That may explain my pattern of posting. Moods are less important as I have posted while up and down.

    The reason I have taken a break from posting new articles is that I am out of ideas. Self-improvement is journey. Like any journey there a moments of activity, but for a lot of the time nothing is happening. There is a lot of activity, purchasing your tickets, getting to the airport, passing through security, but once on the plane very little seems to happen. To the passengers it can be uncertain that you are actually making progress (you could just be flying in circles) or even heading in the right direction.

    For now, I felt I had talked myself out. I also felt a sense of habit forming over what was something I started by chance. I also felt a growing addiction to the post-respond loop. As I said it was very gratifying that anyone read what I had to say much less comment. I would love to think that anything I wrote provided even a little help to others. However, I will not find Salvation on the Internet. I also think that talking too much about self-improvement work actually hampers progress.

    I am not sure if that answers your question but as Obsidian would say, holla back.

  15. Default User Says:

    @David Alexander
    Have you thought of some of the left wing places on the Internet? There is a ton of places for people that use words (in a non joking way) such as “homophobia.” These are places that will not discuss HBD issues (because the are unaware that such ideas exist). The will probably not talk about game.

    I do not understand why you need to be the whiny dissenter on sites you do not like. There is nothing wrong with disagreement but hanging around in groups where you are completely out of step is not good. Your attitudes fit in more with the left/liberal/SWPL portion of the world. Find a place in that neighborhood.

    Examples (I am not a leftie so have no good knowledge of the leftsphere)
    DemocraticUnderground
    DailyKos
    I don’t know if the Daily Show has a board, I am sure they do.

    Of course there is also
    aoefe’s
    The new girl game blog (Phhhffft).
    Hope’s blog (no game, no HBD, nicely written).

  16. David Alexander Says:

    Have you thought of some of the left wing places on the Internet?

    I never liked blogs like DailyKos primarily because they’re filled with some degree of claptrap that isn’t alluring. The right-wing, but politically unaligned blogs are a bit more creative intellectually and require far more brain power from me for interaction. The game stuff is primarily due to an interest in human relationship dynamics, and plus, the theories one can build off the anecdotes is enough to provide years of excuses to friends and family as to why I don’t date. Just coming up with theories based on the interaction of my male and female friends, the blog anecdotes, and the world around me is rather alluring for me.

    The HBD stuff is something that I can’t erase from my mind, and will always eat away at me even if I stop reading it. One starts judging every aspect of life from the perspective “is that the act of a low IQ or high IQ person” and mistakes start becoming signs of low IQ behaviour. Even the kids become depressing since you start wondering if they’ll even have a future.

    I do not understand why you need to be the whiny dissenter on sites you do not like.

    I haven’t said anything on Nova’s blog in sometime, and I refrained from making any comments on that blog in regards to the post that I mentioned. Other than an infrequent post at Half Sigma’s place, I only really comment at Roissy’s place. Everywhere else, I either “fit in” or I keep my mouth shut.

  17. Default User Says:

    @David Alexander

    On HBD et al: Remember group outcomes are not individual outcomes. Besides you are not low IQ, and I doubt any of your family are. Even smart people do dumb things.

    HBD is interesting because it is largely undiscussed in polite society. It might explain some differences in group outcomes but it is not cause for ruining your life. In school, I probably did far worse than my alleged intelligence (I have never been IQ tested). In the real world, I have probably done better.

    Even in the dating world, I have done better than my raw numbers (height, looks, extraversion, etc.) would indicate. That does not deny the truth that guys who are shorter, average looking, and introvert will do worse than guys who are tall, good-looking, and extravert. Both things can be true because we are not a number; we are free men.
    Default Maxim #whatever: Stereotypes may be true for a group but are often false for the individual.

    Rereading the “whiny dissenter” quote made me realize it sounded harsh. It did not want to be harsh. It was a matter of wondering why you post on sites that seem to cause you pain.

  18. David Alexander Says:

    Re: Default User

    Judging by the academic record of my niece and nephew and my knowledge of HBD (and from what I’ve seen from their parents), there’s a part of me that’s speculating on the lack of a need to save up for college for them. It’s hard to magically just say that my family is low IQ, and given the stupid stuff decisions made by myself and other family members in my generation, it’s hard to see the evidence for high IQ except in maybe one or two people. I mean, if we were all high IQ, we’d all finish college, have great careers, and have children born into wedlock with partners of proper rank.

    I’ll admit to be being a crypto-HBD believer, and I said earlier, once you learn about it, you end up interpreting everything under its prism in any attempt to understand and analyze a situation.

    In regards to the “whiny dissenter” remark, I’ll not that Roissy can be depressing at times, but it has its redeeming elements. Roissy’s place is depressing in the fact that reading it fuels the theories, but I can say something absurdest to attract attention and have a little fun with some of the commenters, especially since the material being discussed isn’t too serious. In contrast, an HBD blog doesn’t have the same liberties to fool around with the commenters, and the material is earth-shattering since the facts destroy everything that you’ve known. Reading Roissy just reconfirms the theory that “girls will never like me”, and it just permanently seals away any theoretical exercise in a relationship. Reading an HBD site means that I could technically be a biological fluke in my own race, and that there’s no way to “save” black people, and that my own children could be cursed. Plus there’s that general fear that it will become public and most people will conclude that it’s okay to discriminate against blacks because they’re low IQ which is essentially boots me out of the “white cultural sphere” and seals me in the black sphere that I’ve never felt comfortable in. Mind you, I believe that it’s hard for the average person to view others as individuals instead of as members of a racial and ethnic collective.

  19. Default User Says:

    @David Alexander
    That answer is far too high IQ for me to respond to.

    It is a shame that you put all that effort into standing still. It is sad that you want to build theories as to why you cannot, as compared to building strategies that might allow you to succeed.

    No woman would describe her ideal man as being like me, yet some woman have ended up with me. No doubt, I was not their ideal but they seemed happy enough.
    [Some (including you) may say that they were banging an alpha on the side. A possibility but I am certain not true.] In other words, theories are fine, in theory. We live our lives in the messier world of practice.

  20. Default User Says:

    @David Alexander

    Plus there’s that general fear that it will become public and most people will conclude that it’s okay to discriminate against blacks because they’re low IQ which is essentially boots me out of the “white cultural sphere” and seals me in the black sphere that I’ve never felt comfortable in.

    It more likely means that we will have more objective testing. Smart black people will end up in smart jobs untainted by the affirmative action stigma. It would mean that we no longer force young people with sub-100 IQs to spend four frustrating years in college.

    The important points of The Bell Curve were not in the one or two chapters on race. The important points were in all the other chapters, especially about the stratification of society along IQ lines. There are a lot of uncomfortable truths in HBD but I am not sure they will all lead to bad things.

  21. David Alexander Says:

    That answer is far too high IQ for me to respond to.

    Hehe, funny.

    It doesn’t require much effort to stand still, and I tend to look at it as more of a realistic perspective of what’s going on in my life and the world around me. I’ve never had my IQ directly tested within the past decade, but I don’t think it’s as high as some would think. Otherwise, my engineering classes would have been far easier, and I’d understand the electrical systems behind train operation instead of pandering to my railfan buddy and begging him to explain with little comprehension.

    Plus, to a certain extent, you could argue that I believed in “fixed” tracks where one must do everything at the certain socially prescribed times, or face the fact the fact that they’ve failed. In other words, I’d have to graduate on time in 2005, walk away with a masters degree in 2007, and I’d have a great job and career now that provides some degree of ego support and self-esteem to allow me to say, have friends or attempt to court (white) women using my wages. Hell, that was the plan until I self-imploded and tanked my educational career and future earnings with it sometime ago. So, now, the college degree isn’t to buy respect, the “proper” career, the right friends and female life partner, and middle class family lifestyle, but just to earn a bit more to support my mom and to pay for railfan/roadgeek adventures and future consumption habits.

    et some woman have ended up with me. No doubt, I was not their ideal but they seemed happy enough.

    Since I believe in the golddigger theory, I will generally ensure an intellectual exercise that will find every flaw and find the “real” reason for her interest in me. Generally, her low rank or possibility of mental illness are the reasons to support my sometimes insulting claims. Mind you, it’s hard to honestly go up to a non-alpha guy and say, “she’s only dating you because she’s fucked up and will milk you for money since she can’t get an alpha”. I certainly can’t say that to my brother who seems happy in his relationship, nor can I tell my nephew that he’ll be alone unless he turns into an alpha.

  22. David Alexander Says:

    Re: The Bell Curve

    The general problem that I’ve had with HBD is the fact that it essentially states that the vast majority of black people are fundamentally useless in our modern society. Yes, we’d be able to move to objective testing, but the so-called smart fraction of black people isn’t high enough to counteract the large pool of low IQ in the black community. So one is stuck with the awful stereotypes clouding up the perspectives of the community. Thus, there is no way to “save” black people short of killing off the low IQ segment, and sadly you’d have to kill off the high IQ as well lest one want an angry and terrorized rump population left.

    To this day, I just can’t see having a permanent minority underclass where the population looks different than the majority. It’s just not sustainable in the long-run, and eliminating affirmative action just merely adds to that population, leaving the perennial question of “why are there so few black people of high ranking”. One could argue that yes, they won’t have to waste away in college, but sans college, their lives are relegated at best to being low wage workers.

  23. chic noir Says:

    Default I may very well join you on your temporary absence from the PUA blogs. I can’t turn my back on fashion blogs.

    @DA- reading your correspondence with default leads me to believe that you’re a very sensitive man. All this time I thought you were just attention hoeing. I hope I haven’t upset you with my silly write ups? I tease everyone including myself and my silly write ups are only meant to make everyone laugh at our e-world oddities and repetitiveness.

  24. chic noir Says:

    default et some woman have ended up with me. No doubt, I was not their ideal but they seemed happy enough.

    You were chic noir’s ideal. She could squeeze you like a teddy bear and wrap her long legs around you twice and you’re never angry or mean(unlike most men).

  25. Default User Says:

    @Chic

    You were chic noir’s ideal. She could squeeze you like a teddy bear and wrap her long legs around you twice

    I like the leg wrapping part, I even like the squeeze, but “teddy bear?” I am not sure I like been seen as a teddy bears. Teddy bears are a bit soft and fluffy. Soft and fluffy are not things a man should be.

    and you’re never angry or mean(unlike most men).

    I have my moments. Ask aoefe and bhetti about that.

  26. Default User Says:

    @Chic

    . . . my silly write ups?

    Those are always fun.

    Another PUA blog quitter. Once you quit, you might never go back. I still scan Roissy’s front-page, and some of the posts, but it is no longer part of my regular browsing.

    As to the fashion blogs, it is nice to have one vice.

    Sensitive or not, I still think there is a bit of attention whoring with DA.

  27. Default User Says:

    @David Alexander

    self-imploded and tanked my educational career

    OK. What did you do.

  28. Default User Says:

    @David Alexander
    Re Bell Curve, et al

    I agree with the problems you state. You can’t let that decide the course of your life.

  29. chic noir Says:

    default I have my moments. Ask aoefe and bhetti about that.
    I want to ask for a link but I’m to afriad to see what you can turn into.

    I still shake when I recall the time femx turned maurice into a mean man.

    Those are always fun.

    Well you’ve missed a few since you don’t hang around Roissy’s place much anymore.

  30. Bhetti Says:

    and you’re never angry or mean(unlike most men).

    I have my moments. Ask aoefe and bhetti about that.

    Dude, you’re not Kanye West. You’re very bad at being mean. I do think it’s the lack of practice.

  31. David Alexander Says:

    OK. What did you do.

    I failed out of two colleges, and then proceeded to drive myself into the academic abyss by putting myself onto academic probation at a community college. The latter was far more embarrassing given that the work wasn’t too difficulty, and I simply cut class and didn’t do the work…

  32. Bhetti Says:

    Well, Default, non-passive-aggressively mean anyway.

  33. Default User Says:

    Bhetti

    Well, Default, non-passive-aggressively mean anyway.

    Are you calling me passive-aggressive (faggy)? Well at least I know there is no passivity in your aggression.

  34. Default User Says:

    @Bhetti

    Dude, you’re not Kanye West. You’re very bad at being mean. I do think it’s the lack of practice.

    Well I was not trying to be mean. You all thought I was.

    You are probably right though, I should practice more.

  35. David Alexander Says:

    I agree with the problems you state. You can’t let that decide the course of your life.

    Well, the problem is that once HBD comes out, what self-respecting white person would befriend or date a black person? Also, I’d still have to fear that my potential children could be low IQ…

  36. Default User Says:

    @Chic

    I want to ask for a link . . .

    I was not that mean. But if you want to read it, you can find it on the aoefe thread Roissy’s Younger Women. There are several replies. The entire thing is more, long, boring, and argumentative than mean.

    I also mentioned it here (on the Matchmaking thread). Please do not spend too much time on it.

  37. Default User Says:

    @David Alexander

    I simply cut class and didn’t do the work

    Yeah, I hated school as well.

    You can always go back, you know. If and when you feel ready.

  38. David Alexander Says:

    You can always go back, you know.

    I have to do so. Since I have no desire to leave New York, the only way I can afford to live here in a safe, decent area is to go to school, especially since my 5’8 135lb frame shouldn’t be anywhere near a railroad or any other blue collar, high paying gig. Even moving to Canada legally will require a college degree (and $10K) for their immigration regime…

  39. chic noir Says:

    Default You are rejecting real-life men in place of an Internet entity (sorry doug1).

    At first glance, I thought bhetti was being facetious with that comment but now I’m not so sure. Well now you know why I always tease doug about being an alpha in my plays of château R. doug makes good e-love so I hear.

    Default This sort of stuff is much more fun than pathetic e-flirting over out-of-focus pictures of your linty belly button.

    LOLROF

    default You know that, I know that. I am certain you do not see me as alpha

    Actually, I do now. Not that I don’t like you as a beta because I love you as a beta but it’s good to know that you can protect me when needed. No need to go running behind Maurice and Whelmer when danger is around.

    I’m only half way finished. Babe, you grew hair on your chest from this exchange.

  40. Default User Says:

    @Chic

    I’m only half way finished. Babe, you grew hair on your chest from this exchange.

    LOL Thanks.

    I am glad you got a smile from it, you might be the only other one that did.

    I had to go back to the original thread to check but it seems you used a little creative license in the “belly button” quote. My original did not include the word “linty.” Your version is funnier though.

  41. Default User Says:

    @David Alexander

    since my 5′8 135lb frame shouldn’t be anywhere near a railroad or any other blue collar, high paying gig.

    Is extreme strength (i.e., more than a 135lb man could exert) really needed for the that many railroad/blue-collar jobs?

    Even moving to Canada. . .

    If you are looking to hook up with the Maple Honey just remember the word “dominance” and you will be fine.

  42. chic noir aka madame default Says:

    My original did not include the word “linty.” Your version is funnier though

    See I know well I know you default my e-love. I just knew you would giggle at the “linty” belly button.

  43. Linty User Says:

    @Madame Default
    Your new name made me smile. Thanks.

  44. Bhetti Says:

    Well I was not trying to be mean. You all thought I was.

    This is reminding me of my mother, when she blurs me together with The Others.
    ‘You all… !’
    ‘What? I did…?’

    I don’t know. People reacted before I did. So I’m not sure if it was that or something else that made go ‘not bothered’. Did I actually say you were mean?? I don’t recall (and can’t be bothered to look it up).

    Anyway, I’m glad That Incident has drawn you and chic closer together. I promise not to call her flipping crazy if she falls even harder for e-you.

  45. Default User Says:

    @Bhetti
    You probably did not actually call me mean. The impression I got was that people felt that I was mean/assholish or trying to be mean/assholish. Anyway, that is enough about The Incident (I like that title).

    What I am interested in is your previous “passive-aggressive” jibe. Please explain.

  46. David Alexander Says:

    Is extreme strength (i.e., more than a 135lb man could exert) really needed for the that many railroad/blue-collar jobs?

    Generally, it’s expect that a male should be able to lift 75 lbs without trouble. Lifting that much will be a problem for me.

    If you are looking to hook up with the Maple Honey just remember the word “dominance” and you will be fine.

    I like the part of Canada where she doesn’t live. 🙂

  47. Bhetti Says:

    I withdraw this jibe. It was baseless.

  48. David Alexander Says:

    Is extreme strength (i.e., more than a 135lb man could exert) really needed for the that many railroad/blue-collar jobs?

    Generally, it’s expect that a male should be able to lift 75 lbs without trouble. Lifting that much will be a problem for me. Even with on-board positions on the railroad and mass transit systems, even though there are plenty of female employees, it’s implied that the men should be relatively strong to potentially compensate…

    If you are looking to hook up with the Maple Honey just remember the word “dominance” and you will be fine.

    I like the part of Canada where she doesn’t live. 🙂

  49. Default User Says:

    @David Alexander

    I like the part of Canada where she doesn’t live.

    I guess you could commute.

    On the 75 lbs: I presume that is lift, and carry some distance. That would be more than half your body weight. So that would be difficult.

  50. Default User Says:

    @Bhetti

    I withdraw this jibe. It was baseless.

    Thank you.
    🙂

  51. Default User Says:

    @David Alexander, Bhetti

    Thank you for posting at exactly the time I logged on. Real-time is much more fun than tape-delayed.

  52. David Alexander Says:

    I guess you could commute.

    Eh, I don’t know if she’s worth it. 😛

    As for the weight requirements, given that as a railway conductor, you’re the de facto leader of the train (the train operator/engineer is NOT in charge unless he’s alone), you’re expected to lift heavy items, pull and push switches, and once in a while, drag a drunk guy (or criminal) or woman off the train, it’s probably better to have that strength in reserve.

  53. Default User Says:

    @David Alexander

    Eh, I don’t know if she’s worth it

    How could you say such a thing?

    you’re expected to lift heavy items, pull and push switches, and once in a while, drag a drunk guy (or criminal) or woman off the train, it’s probably better to have that strength in reserve.

    That makes sense.

    One final but unrelated thing. Check out the links in the Fingerprints thread. You might find something on that thread that helps give you the mental energy needed for study.

  54. David Alexander Says:

    How could you say such a thing?

    I don’t think I’m willing to live in some small town with no trains (and highways) for an orgasm and steady supply of hugs and make-out sessions with a beautiful woman.

    Check out the links

    I definitely will.

  55. chic noir aka madame default Says:

    Bhetti Anyway, I’m glad That Incident has drawn you and chic closer together. I promise not to call her flipping crazy if she falls even harder for e-you.
    🙂

    Do I call them or what folks. There is a reason I tease doug for being an alpha in all of my chateau R plays.

  56. Default User Says:

    @David Alexander
    PS:
    You could also search on “Smart Drugs,” “Nootropics,” “cognitive enhancers”
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cognitive_enhancer
    [e.g., Adrafinil, Modafinil both can ease mental fatigue.]

  57. Default User Says:

    @Madame Default

    There is a reason I tease doug for being an alpha in all of my chateau R plays.

    Teasing the alpha, very cool. Just remember to be aloof as well.

  58. aoefe Says:

    What is it with people disappearing when they’re hitting their blogging stride!! Default you are an enigma. Hard for me to figure out. I mean that in the best way. Don’t drop off the face of the earth and okay I’l say it…please please don’t leave me!!! srsly.

  59. chic noir aka madame default Says:

    default I put it up sweet heart.

    aoefe okay I’l say it…please please don’t leave me!!!

    sigh.

  60. Default User Says:

    @Chic Madame Default

    default I put it up sweet heart.

    Read it and commented. Thank you.

    I am glad that my talent has at last been spotted

  61. David Alexander Says:

    Default and Chic do make a great couple. 🙂

  62. Default User Says:

    @aoefe
    To use that now famous phrase: “I’ll be back.”

    I do miss the blogging and posting interactions but needed the break. The fact that I miss it is the sign that I need a break. My return will not be as quick as Lazarusofia but probably no more than a few weeks (based on the theory of 21 days to make/break a habit).

    Sometimes I am an enigma to myself as well; so don’t worry about that.

    I will not completely drop off the face of the Internet. I will probably post at some of the guy (non game specific) blogs and probably Hope’s (again, non game related). I will cut way back on my Internet time.

    ChicMadame Default made me smile with her recent blog entry and you made me smile me up with your visit.

    PS:
    I hope that banker guy was good currency and not another counterfeit. It sounded promising.

  63. Default User Says:

    @David Alexander

    According to Chic you make a great pianist (see her latest blog entry).

  64. David Alexander Says:

    According to Chic you make a great pianist (see her latest blog entry).

    Why is it that women impose their dreams on me…

  65. Default User Says:

    @David Alexander (concert pianist)

    Why is it that women impose their dreams on me

    And what is wrong with that? Chic had women swooning over my stage performance. If I can live with that, you should be able to live with being a pianist.

    I cannot get your song out of my head

    ♫Life of beta … so sad and blue. Life of a beta… thinking the humiliation is not worth going thru♫

  66. David Alexander Says:

    And what is wrong with that?

    I’d prefer that they spend their time dreaming of far more capable men. In this case, a man with the talent to play a musical instrument will do…

    I cannot get your song out of my head

    Play Stranger in Moscow by Michael Jackson. 🙂

  67. Default DJ Says:

    @David Alexander

    Play Stranger in Moscow by Michael Jackson.

    I had not heard it before. Nice song. Still I think I will (when doing Michael Jackson impersonations) stick to the crotch grabbing stuff. It is what the chicks like.

  68. chic noir Says:

    Default default come visit my blog. I wrote something to make you laugh again.

  69. To Ponder « Default User Says:

    […] some strange reason I like my first Test Card post (used to alert readers I was taking a break). It has some trivia and a little humor. Not very […]

Leave a Reply

