The Best Laid Plans

by

I was watching the videos of Milton Friedman’s Free to Choose that I mentioned in an earlier post. One of the videos featured Lance Von Allmen, an inventor. Allmen had created a kind of magic fluff for use in cleaning up oil spills. He was hoping to develop it into a product and “make millions.”

With the recent oil spill, I wondered if his invention had come to fruition and use in the Gulf. I performed a search on his name to see what had become of him and his invention. I found out that in 1981, one year after the show aired, Allmen had died. I found no details of his death (indeed I am not certain it is the same person) but do wonder what happened.

Lance von Allmen: You know you’re going to make a lot of money. People talk to me and they will say, yeah, but you are crazy, you don’t have a job; you don’t know where the next pay check is going to come from; as a matter of fact, I think I have $10.00 in my pocket right now, but I don’t worry about it. I get up in the morning and it is my world. I own it. I can sit back and say I am losing, or I can sit back and say I am winning. I can go out and change the odds in my favor.
[via Show Transcript]

Mr. Von Allen had his dreams and plans, but life had different ones. It made me think about how we can make all our plans but fate may overrule them.

3 Responses to “The Best Laid Plans”

  1. drew Says:

    I don’t think there is such thing as fate. The man had a great idea, not sure if it worked, one thing is certain, it was not faith that made an idea like that not work.
    Von Allmen had a big character flaw when it came to women. He spent all his day in bars and picking up women. One day in 1981 June he slept with a married woman and got shot by her husband.It’s sad, it is terrible to let these type of things get infront of our success.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    that’s an amazing anecdote from drew considering the nature of the ‘sphere’.

  3. Default User Says:

    @drew, Anonymous
    Interesting. I was not able to confirm the cause (or even the actuality) of his death. A search for his name only brought up a page or two mentioning, but not describing, his death.

    It certainly makes my “Best Laid…” title more poignant.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

