Random Thoughts on: Random Thoughts

by

One of the reasons I blog infrequently is that I find the process of writing difficult. I have ideas, but the act of organizing them into an article seems to drain them of their energy.

Part of this comes from feeling the need to have a fully argued article. I can get caught trying to think of the counter points and possible misunderstandings others might have and incorporate that into the post. Of course, such counter points themselves need description and that leads to more counterpoints . . .and on, and on.

I realized that I am not writing academic style texts that need to show sources and have careful citation. I am just throwing ideas out there. I have always preferred discussion to argument (proving something “correct”). For me the brainstorming (idea generation) is most of the fun, writing long descriptions, and their arguments, is less so.

In most cases, I have come to my belief or perception over time. It is the thought of going back to dig up the resource, quotes, and references that I used to arrive at my perception that is off-putting.

These Random Thoughts posts will allow me skip all of that research and perhaps write more. I hope that be focusing on shorter (or at least easier to write) posts I might write more, and be more likely to hit something interesting. Of course, sometimes the idea will just be an idea. It will be the blogging equivalent of “hold my beer and watch this.”

I will title all such posts as “Random Thoughts on:” so readers know what to expect.

10 Responses to “Random Thoughts on: Random Thoughts”

  1. An Unmarried Man Says:

    Good luck.
    I’ve concluded that all my thoughts are purely random lol.
    Blogging’s unstructured structure can be very trying on the disciplined mind but very liberating to the undisciplined mind…hence, Me.

  2. Default User Says:

    @An Unmarried Man
    I would consider that I also have an undisciplined mind. The structure of the Internet is exactly like my mind, it is one thing linked to the other but not necessarily in any sensible order. I do find the act of blogging (organizing those unstructured thoughts) more difficult.

  3. Random Thoughts on: Gay Marriage « Default User Says:

    […] Thoughts on: Gay Marriage By Default User This is another Random Thought in the Random Thoughts series of quickfire posts (more like comments than […]

  4. Random Thoughts on: Dogma « Default User Says:

    […] Thoughts on: Dogma By Default User This is another Random Thought in the Random Thoughts series of quickfire posts (more like comments than […]

  5. Random Thoughts on: Labor « Default User Says:

    […] types are immune to job replacement: U.S. To Train 3,000 Offshore IT Workers This is another Random Thought in the Random Thoughts series of quickfire posts (more like comments than […]

  6. Random Thoughts: USA Beta Provider « Default User Says:

    […] US is the biggest alpha of them all; it just needs to get some game. This is another Random Thought in the Random Thoughts series of quickfire posts (more like comments than […]

  7. Random Thoughts on: The End of College? « Default User Says:

    […] so the smart high-schooler may be no less mature than the college graduate. This is another Random Thought in the Random Thoughts series of quickfire posts (more like comments than […]

  8. Random Thoughts: This I Believe « Default User Says:

    […] this is not all that I believe but is all I could be bothered to write about. This is another Random Thought in the Random Thoughts series of quickfire posts (more like comments than […]

  9. Random Thoughts: Capitalism and Communism « Default User Says:

    […] Maybe, like the Soviet Union, we will limp along far beyond our expected end-date. This is another Random Thought in the Random Thoughts series of quickfire posts (more like comments than […]

  10. Random Thoughts: Obama Just Like Me « Default User Says:

    […] as my own bit of narcissism, thus making me like Obama as per my original claim. This is another Random Thought in the Random Thoughts series of quickfire posts (more like comments than […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

