Mail.com Sucks

by
Mail.com has improved since posting this.

The e-mail address linked to this blog is at Mail.com. Mail.com has to be the worst e-mail provider I have ever used.

It is always slow.
It frequently will not log me on because of a “connection error.”
It takes forever to bring up the inbox.
It is slow to open individual e-mails.
It frequently error screens when changing folders or moving to the next e-mail.
The area for entering text in the “compose” screen is tiny. The total height is les than 10 lines. Most of the area is given over to ads or the interface.
It will frequently time out when sending an e-mail with an “our servers are busy” message. Hitting the back button returns you to your e-mail, but without the text you just typed (copy ‘n’ paste is your friend).

In short, Mail.com sucks.
counter for wordpress

23 Responses to “Mail.com Sucks”

  1. chic noir Says:

    thanks for the info my love, I will stay far far away from mail.com

  2. Default User Says:

    A new blog (“For those who like to relax and giggle.”), I see. Well done.

  3. aoefe Says:

    I don’t like google mail so much either. Sigh…yahoo has been good to me though *grin

  4. John Says:

    Mail.com really sucks. I used use them via my Pop Peeper, but they now don’t allow POP3 access… or want to sell it unlike GOOGLE. Mail.com, if you are reading this, a curse on your business. Go away!
    [DU: Mail.com sucks shows up on search terms that bring people to this site]

  5. Jack Says:

    Totally agree. Mail.com is a tragedy — a total waste of cyberspace. And they seem to be sucking at the teet of AOL – the longest perpetual train wreck on the internet.

  6. christine Says:

    mail.com is horrible.

    no customer service, unless you pay

    but how can you pay if they won’t even talk to you first

    no, you just have to pay first, then they talk to you

    horrible…..horrible….

    and AOL is the same way

  7. PFM Says:

    I totally agree, I am currently trying to shut down my stupid mail.com account for all of the reasons you listed above and the fact that I get “unknown error” half the time I try to log in. The new beta sucks and is even slower than basic, the spam is worse than ever with pop up movie ads that take up over 3/4 of the screen when you trying to enter your address and password….that’s bullshit. Mail.com sucks, AOl sucks. For some reason when I get unknown error it logs me into my email under AOL email banner after it redirects me….WTF. This is a crippled, poor excuse for an email service and to top it off you can’t close your account. The idiot tech support people just keep emailing you back garbage saying error was fixed etc when it wasn’t and will not acknowledge your request to cancel the account, to me that’s wrong and pathetic. Mail.com should be hacked into oblivion.
    [DU: I just realized that perhaps my ad-blocker/popup blocker is keeping the worst elements at bay. I will have to try visiting, sans "protection", as it were]

  8. John Louis Says:

    Mail.com has not improved! And that being said, I wanted to shut down my account too but somehow since April 22 they again seem to be working on their software. If you try to log in you can’t and you..get the following, “Thank you for your patience We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause! Currently we are improving your mail.com service… but it’s worth the wait!” I think there is something wrong here and maybe thousands of users may have lost their accounts. I haven’t had any yahoo problems so I will stick with them.
    [DU: It improved, then disimproved, and is OK now.. I am a light user and recently it has worked well enough. They changed the interface again. While they have made it more application like (compared to web like), I cannot say it is an improvement. I had no problem with the previous interface (the one before that was awful), but did suffer slow/lost logins. Recent performance has been OK.]

  9. Lance Says:

    Boy do they ever. Besides getting 12 emails in my inbox & 65 emails in my spam folder eveyday I can’t even get the site to load properly on my iPhone. This started as soon as they did another upgrade, which I hate btw.

  10. Ralph Slatton Says:

    Gosh, this is so incredibly true. I am constantly having to re-login, because the site logs me out or fails to load properly. Don’t the owners of mail.com test out their own software?
    [DU: I have not had many problems recently. However, I do not use Mail.com as my main e-mail. I just logon, check for messages (very few), and then logoff. I have not had the logon problems that I previously suffered, but I don't know if I would stay logged in if I kept the window open.]

  11. Deathblow Says:

    I’m about ready to part ways with mail.com. Should have known once AOL got involved, it was doomed to failure. Seems like every “upgrade” they’ve done has actually made it worse. Before the last “upgrade”, I could access them from all my mobile devices, now, it won’t work on ANY of them. The new search is horrible, and no longer searches in the folder you have active, such as spam, which, IMHO, was the most useful place to search, since about 20% of my legitimate emails would end up in there for some unknown reason.

  12. I'm pissed Says:

    Just had my mail.com account hacked, apparently. Can’t login with the username/password I used the day before and have used every single day, several times a day. Now I have to wait and see if I’m financially screwed because this email was used solely for finances, college information, and other secure information. Mail.com? BIG MISTAKE
    [DU: Several months ago, I suffered repeated login failures. After entering my ID and password, I would receive an error message ("cannot authenticate" or similar). Sometimes an immediate retry would work; sometimes I would have to wait a while. Recently I have not suffered such problems. I do not believe that my account was ever hacked though.
    -
    I hope your problems turn out to be technical and not financial. Good luck!]

  13. Anonymous Says:

    I have had all the same problems as you guys. It is terrible. Now, I have an email address I can’t log into but the error is a new one, for me. It says: your account has been blocked. I have no idea why. I checked the mail one day and the next, it was blocked. This isn’t a main address or anything and there is very little, if any (besides the spam coming in) activity going on. It just pisses you off when you can’t log in for no apparent reason. Luckily gmail is stable and has been fine for me for years. Hell, even my 15 year old yahoo address has never given me any problems. In this day and age, and as long as mail.com has been around, why can’t they get it right?
    [DU: Ha! Another satisfied Mail.com customer. This post has been surprisingly popular and surprisingly resilient (most older posts receive no comments). Perhaps I should praise them for sending me blog hits.]

  14. Keith Lampman Says:

    Mail.com still sucks, I was hacked and have been locked out of my email for over two-weeks now, I even sent those basturds a photo ID and still no email !

  15. lacrisha phea Says:

    These people are idiots they blocked my account for an unknown reason and can’t tell me why nor can they fix the issue so I can continue recieving my emails as usual I have to now start all the way freaken over with everything I had my email 4,years and they ruined my life in an instant there’s no one to talk to or anything just a stupid leave a email and they will get back soon as possible with much to suprise they’re response was nothing nada mail.com are idiots my last use was 9/15/2012 and they suck

  16. stuffmonger Says:

    I used to have a free mail.com email address, August 2012. I have had the account for really long time, i.e. since 2002.

    I used this account as my personal email address.

    In 2009, I bought my own domain which I used, and still use for email purposes today. I hardly used my mail.com since then for sending emails, but have been regularly checking the account since then just to keep it active and to see if there were perhaps any personal emails still coming to the address. (And glad to say, there have been close to nothing coming there).

    I logged in to my mail.com quite regularly since then. In July, for example, I probably logged in 3 times, and in August about twice (both were successful).

    A few days later, I tried logging in, and I got a message saying that my account had been blocked and that I should contact mail.com. I was shocked.
    So I did just that.

    This is what I wrote:

    “Why has my account been blocked?
    I have had my account since December 2002.
    I would appreciate feedback as to why my long standing account has been blocked.
    Thank you. ”

    This is what they sent me:

    “Dear mail.com Customer,
    We thank you for your inquiry. We have forwarded your request to our security department and it was determined that the account in question will remain blocked.
    With kind regards,
    Your mail.com Support Team”

    I responded asking why it has been blocked again. But never received any response.

    But from what I am reading in the posts from the two posters above me, and the timing of this “new blocking” going on… I am almost certain they did away with quite a few accounts. Mine included.

    I suspect that they using a new method to block:
    -Active Accounts who are not sending mail,
    -Not changing passwords regularly,
    -First Name or Last name contains words, e.g.Perhaps a Company: Bach Law Practice- which contains dictionary words = not a real account.
    -And the list goes on…

    Seriously? One can’t even recover your emails? Jesus Christ!

    Please refrain from using the services offered by these malicious cyber gangsters known as Mail.com

    They will first give you an email address, and then have a look into your account every now and then-yes!! That’s right… their prying eyes. If they see your account is full of spam, unread emails piling up, not sending emails anymore…

    An excerpt from an article relating to Mail.com (2012-11-26)

    “Bob, we have another loner account.”, said Harry. ” An interview with Harry indicated that they had to reduce the number of free mail.com users, as the mail.com servers were being overloaded.

    “Yes, there is ample space for users, but that doesn’t mean they should use all of it, especially since they are not premium members. ”

    “Why store old emails from 8 years ago? It’s the type of junk that Mail.com is not standing for anymore”

    —————

    I guess that says it all :’(

  17. MaryBeth Says:

    I have been with them for over 10 years, but they have gotten worse and worse, and now my emails are blocked as spam by many fileters and my clients can’t get my emails. This is my OFFICE email! I pay for a premium account and there is NO customer service; No phone #; and the email “help” is useless. I’m so angry, I don’t know what to do!

  18. Anonymous Says:

    Somehow, Mail.com is apparently rated as one of the top mail services on the web. Is it because of their massive choice of individual addresses? Because I see no other reason.

    Worst email service I have ever come accross. On top of everything this review says, it’s a chore simply to log in. You go to Mail.com, a banner immediatly blocks your screen asking you, even if you have an account, to JOIN MAIL.COM. You have to wait for this banner to fully load to X out of it, then, when you get around that obsticle to click the Login address bar, it doesn’t register the first time. You must click it twice, and then ad pops up and removes your cursor. You close the ad, clickthe bar one more freaking time, and finally, it lets you type your name. This is with every loggin. Considering the front page is chock full of ads that use up a fuckload of CPU memory to begin with, is a pop up seriously necessary?

    Do they not bother to run checks on their own webpage? Do they not notice how utterly their own service is? A bunch of retards must run that website.

  19. arc Says:

    Stay away from mail.com at all costs!!

  20. It's worse fool! Says:

    MAIL.COM SUCKS!! You don’t know what you’re talking about: been trying to sign into my account, password saved, and all it does is loop. When it finally reaches my account, 3 hrs later and 19 tries after, it crashes! :-/ Mail.com sucks so you need to delate your box: it not improved, it worse, fool!

  21. Russ Says:

    I agree with the above person “mail.com” does suck and so does the support too! Had the account since August of 2009 and had a few problems. Since 5/20/14 I haven’t been able to access webmail, still can’t now. Thought maybe it was because I was using an older version of Firefox even updated Java, Flashplayer and the Firefox browser nothing helped! When I installed the “mailcheck” extension in Firefox I was able to check my mail. It looks like they are forcing people to use the Firefox extension if they want to use MAIL.COM.

  22. Jim Says:

    Every time when I log in, mail.com will log me out by saying I did not log out last time.
    No customer services.

  23. Anonymous Says:

    No help, you guys, tell me how to leave them. It seems I cannot.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

